We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place with a great concept” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #26 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place with a great concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We wanted to eat here after reading some reviews on TA. It was Sunday late lunch and the place was full. We waited at the bar for a table for maybe 10 minutes. They don't take reservations and it's first in best dressed to get a seat. Go during off peak times or be prepared to wait but it is worth it. There is no menu, the waitress comes to your table and tells you what is available.

We had the salmon on pak choi with a soya sauce which comes with a green salad and of course, their chips with mayo. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the sauce was quite tasty.

The staff are friendly. The service is efficient. Prices are reasonable for the quality of food that you get. A great place with a good atmosphere.

Wish we had eaten here again but didn't get a chance before we left.
Don't miss out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BreezeAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    340
    64
    14
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent good food out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is wasn't for the previous reviews we would never have thought of going here, but we were glad we did. Just out of the way down a small street, very nice inside and the food was fantastic. However no menu on show, the waitress tells you the menu.

Good value but a little bit on the dearer side for other places but well worth it. However it gets busy very quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a nice dutch culinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

one of the best places to have a dutch meal in Amsterdam. i've been going there since 2008. cuzy atmosphere. tables are limited and small. the places is always busy so expect to wait on the bar for a while.
food is awsome and prices are moderate.
what amazes me is how small the kitchen is!!!
a must visit resturant in Amsterdam

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aziz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row, early in order to get a seat. On Saturday night, the restaurant was full by 6:30 but on Sunday night it was much emptier and the few patrons seemed local. We were even earlier on Sunday night and the dinner menu wasn't fully developed yet. The food on offer were variations of the previous night's meals. But both nights the food was delicious, the service was excellent, the atmosphere was fun. Loved it. The mussels cooked in garlic oil were the tastiest mussels I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank damgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Restaurant Near Dam Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

All the reviews were right on target. Small, bustling restaurant with friendly efficient staff. Since the menu changes daily, you could go several times during your stay and have unique, tasty foods each time. Just remember, it is small with first come first serve so avoid peak meal time. We arrived before 7pm (early Oct) and we're seated right away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arkrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing