We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in the heart of Amsterdam”
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #36 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times during annual visits to Amsterdam. The place is very small and always busy. Generally, there is a wait for a table and this year was no exception - no problem pull up to the bar and enjoy some refreshing cold beer! Food is excellent and cooked to order, there is no menu, the waitress simply tells you the 5 or 6 items that you can pick from. For four people we spent 150 Euros, including at least 2 or 3 beers each and dessert, so reasonable pricing. The location is very short walk from Dam square but on a quiet street so its not likely to be found by accident. Try this place, I'm sure you will be happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    426
    79
    18
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Dutch Food!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this small quaint family run restaurant! Quick walk from Central station! Restaurant was full when we arrived sat at the bar and enjoyed local beers, our table was ready in 10 minutes, great view to people watch. No traditional paper menu the waiter tells you your choices which changes daily! The sweet potato soup , Indonesian chicken, veggie stew and bacon dates were delicious!had 2 vegetarian options!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sumita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's all about the food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you want waiting staff that are very deferential you may not enjoy Van Kerkwijk. However, if you like fantastic food you will not be disappointed.
It's busy and small and doesn't look much from the outside but this family run place (two sisters front of house, various other relatives cooking and their mother makes the most delightful apple pies) serves innovative and excellent food at very reasonable prices. There is no printed menu although there are some indications of what they serve painted on the wall in the entrance but these are the basics. Other menu items change regularly. I had the fillet with goats cheese and a strawberry reduction and although it sounds odd, it works really well. Others with me had the Indonesian Chicken and said they loved it. If you don't mind a bit of a wait and you love good food this place is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great suggestion!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been trying out the restaurants i read about on the trip advisor. Most are very good, but this one was right on tge money! A terrific meal. My two friends and I had one shared appetizer, three main courses, and a number of lagers. Total bill ?90. Very reasonable. Tonight the nain courses were lamb shank and beef medallion. Bith were terrific. Cannot say enough. I will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, reasonable price!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to Van Kerkwijk based on trip advisor reviews and didn't regret it. We had the steak with berry sauce (amazing) and the lamb shank. Very satisfying- 30 minute wait, but there is a small bar section to have a drink in the meantime. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing