We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmospheric”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #35 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a disappointing first night's dinner we checked out trip advisor for subsequent night's this restaurant did not disappoint excellent food in a very friendly atmosphere don't expect a menu the chef comes to each table and describes the dishes, hope you gave a good memory. Wouldn't hesitate to return here. Perfectly cooked steaks with very imaginitative sauces.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    409
    76
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Following recent trip advisor reviews decided to visit Van Kerkwijk & so pleased that we did. Yes we had to wait for approx 20 mins at bar but no big deal as enjoyed great beer whilst waiting for table. Once seated very friendly waitress comes & talks you through menu (as no printed menus here). Enjoyed an excellent home made pate with scrummy bread followed by two excellent mains, steak with goats cheeese & strawberries which I grant you sounds strange,however it was one of the best pieces of fillet I have ever tasted! My other half had salmon which was also excellent & plentiful. There is a wine menu & all reasonably priced. We did not know until the time to ask for Bill what prices were but we're pleasantly surprised to see Bill totalling only 63 euros, which included drinks before & during meal. This place is always busy & used by locals & has a really friendly atmosphere, it is only small so be prepared to wait but we'll worth it. Food, atmosphere,service & staff all equally fab. Wouldn't go back to Amsterdam without visiting this little gem again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth finding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We read about Van Kerkwijk on TripAdvisor and made sure we arrived early. Just as well, as on a freezing cold February night the place was full before 7.00 p.m. and there were people waiting. I had goat's cheese mousse with beetroot and an orange sauce and my husband had carpaccio of ham - both very good. The main course was a steak cooked rare - and it really WAS cooked rare for a change, with fries and salad ( salad dressing which gave Merry Berry's a run for her money) and Indonesian-inspired chicken cooked in coconut milk which I asked to eat with rice instead of fries. The kitchen was happy to oblige. The pudding - chocolate brownie with a sort of banana mousse - was delicious, though the brownie was more biscuity than soft. The service was very good, despite there only being two people serving, and the menu is explained to you by a waiter rather than written down. If you like beer but don't want too big a glass, ask for a flutje (?) as this is smaller than a half pint and suited me better. Don't go if you want smart tablecloths and great elegance, but the atmosphere is young, buzzing and friendly and the food is very good. It's very popular with locals, which must say something about it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ks
Level Contributor
331 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Original recipes in a really nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had already eaten very good food Dutch food in several restaurants in Amsterdam, and were pleasantly surprised by the original recipes/sauces and by the great atmosphere at Van Kerkwijk. There were lots of people waiting patiently for a table, including lots of young people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We decided to eat here after reading about it on Trip Advisor and in our guide book. As stated by others we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. But this was fine because we were sat at the bar and could chose from a wide selection of drinks. We chose Leffe Blonde, which is one of our favourite all time Belgian beers. So were not too disapointed at drinking this as an aperitif.
Upon being seated we were approached by the waiter who recited the menu from memory. The food came quickly and we had the meat pate and mackerel terrine. Both of these dishes were very smooth, very tasty and served with excellent home made bread. The dressing on the salad was a very pleasant surprise.
For the main course i had the restaurant speciality, steak with goats cheese and strawberry sauce served with chips (fries) and mayonaise. The steak was cooked exactly as I had asked (rare) and was surprisingly tender. The goats cheese was probably too strong to complement the steak, but the strawberry sauce was a definite plus. My partner had cod on mash potatoes and this was again very flavoursome and excellently seasoned.
We had no room for desert, probably because of the attentive service and constant refills of Leffe. This was a very good dining experience for us and the meal was a very reasonable 73 euros for 2 starters, 2 mains and 9 beers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing