We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #46 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in a party of five so we we had to wait 40 minutes for a table. It was worth the wait.
Van Kertwijk is a very informal restaurant, there does not appear to be a written menu in the evening, but the staff explain what is on that night.
There are always good veggie options as well as steaks and fish, everything is delicious. Everyone in our group really enjoyed it and the very friendly staff made it a great night

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    434
    80
    20
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice quiet café ”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

So central, but hidden away, this was our favourite restaurant in Amsterdam. It's got a good local atmosphere, with friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank airstrip_one
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“its ok !”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

not much to say about this restaurant , the food is ok / good .
the wine is CHEAP and cheerful , the prosecco tasted more like asti , and the bottle of rioja you could buy any where in europe for 8 eur's ish it cost 28 eur's .
service was friendly enough , but the 2 guys were rather stretched as the restaurant was full .
my partner had the beef in strawberry sauce , didnt work 4 him , i tried his and wasnt impressed .
what did impress me was the kitchen size may be 2 sq meters , catering for about 40 people , i asked 1 of the waiters if it was part of a bigger kitchen but it wasnt hehe .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hankinsonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by our concierge for dinner last night. We went and it was packed around 730 pm. So we went somewhere else which was great. However, we dropped in there for lunch today and it was great. Our waiter was Very good.Will probably go back for dinner soon and just wait for a table at the bar. It's worth the wait! There is no menu so the waiter tells you what's available. He doesn't tell you the prices but lunch was reasonable. If I lived here I would keep this place to myself!

Helpful?
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Outstanding! It's should be on Anthony Bourdain. Great food, great service. We spent 2 weeks in Europe - from Amsterdam to Basel, Switzerland and this was the best meal we had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing