We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dutch Food Experience”
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
Ranked #69 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: The Pantry Imagine a restaurant version of the successful TV show I Love Holland, and that is what The Pantry is like. This cosy restaurant near the Leidseplein distinguishes itself with its typically Dutch atmosphere and traditional old-Dutch dishes. Hospitality is important. The staff understands the dining and hospitality business and have worked here for years, during which the recognition of this restaurant has been ever increasing. The Dutch living room atmosphere is enhanced by the use of lampshades, Delftware and old paintings on the wall, complemented by the background music. The Pantry works exclusively with fresh, homemade products. Its location in the Leidseplein neighbourhood makes this an ideal restaurant to eat before catching a theatre show or movie. The doors open from eleven in the morning, so it's also a great place to go for lunch
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Dutch Food Experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife wanted to try "real Dutch food", based on the reviews we decided to try The Pantry. So glad we did. Even though we didn't have reservations, they split 2 tables to accommodate us. The food was outstanding, we both chose the 4 course dinner option. The cheese fondue at the next table looked wonderful, we will try that next trip. Our waiter was friendly and outgoing,

Great location, small so call ahead for a seat, this is a popular place, they must be doing something right!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeCareGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,234
    789
    103
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst meal I've ever eaten”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having read the review here we went to eat. Didn't need to book, which given what follows isn't surprising. Certainly authentic. do you remember those scoops of mashed potatoes you got for school dinners? Well, 3 of those, variously flavoured, with a lump of smoked sausage on top ( 1 euro from your local supermarket). 13 euros. Actually had the 18 euro menu, so I could get a starter and my wife a pudding. The starter of pea soup was ok, very salty, with a slice of raw streaky bacon on the side. My wife had ordered beef ragout with undercooked red cabbage which was ok-ish. Again, school dinners standard. On a positive note my wife said her house red wine was good,and I had the trappist beer which was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christ0pherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now there's a Dutch Ham!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After waiting for quite a while to be noticed in this small, crowded restaurant, my friend and I were about to leave and find somewhere faster. This very nice couple next to us said, "no, you must stay - Trip Advisor says it's one of the best in all of Amsterdam." Well we were SOOO glad we did! The best food, absolutely the most amazing Dutch ham I've ever dreamed of. Don't be afraid of the small, tight seating, this is one restaurant worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iseefine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but a bit disappointed”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Considering that this restaurant rated at #22 out of 1500+ in Amsterdam I expected more. Traditional Dutch food served in a cozy little place. Waiter was great and very friendly/helpful. I had the carpaccio appetizer and beef stew. Good sized portions and enjoyed the meal but again, the food quality was average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rextrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Dutch food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had delicious Dutch food and a friendly waiter. This place is popular and pretty small, so worth booking a window table in advance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelKittyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing