We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Maybe the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan

The Dylan
Ranked #607 of 3,556 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Maybe the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and visit many restaurants. This is probably my favorite. The combination of service, wines, food is excellent. It also has a distinct and different touch on the food, not main stream. "Test Diner"

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Testdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent excellent excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic late lunch --or early dinner--here on a Sunday to break up long day of wandering this lovely City on a girlfriends weekend. Goat cheese ravioli one of the best ever, halibut and barley was perfect, the salad they made to order for us was delicious, ... the bread the pie, the coffees were all in fact wonderful. Service friendly, room cozy, crowd in adjoining lounge was sweet--happy families gathering. Great place to stop and eat great food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Certainly not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I found it a strange place. I was in a group of 11 and we only had a choice of 2 starters, 2 main and 2 sweets. One of the sweets was cheese. I had fish the night before and the main course options were fish or chicken. I chose chicken and regretted it. The food was bland and one of my chicken pieces was bloody - not something I will eat. Service was very slow. I will not go back to nor will I recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arqueros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the centre of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Want to get away from all the buzz in the city? Head to The Dylan Hotel and more precisely it's restaurant. Situated at the famous Keizersgracht in the so called 'Grachtengordel' (Canal district).

The restaurant serves food outside on the courtyard when the weather is good. Inside the atmosphere is also very pleasant and exclusive: have a drink at the fireplace and go for your lunch (or dinner) inside the restaurant.

Small but decent menu. Top quality ingredients. Impressive wine list available.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OCdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing venue and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and staff at the Dylan are truly from the top drawer. Uniquely designed, yet homely our room was flawless. The staff anticipated our needs and offered discreet first class services when needed. Genuinely top end venue, with a nice bar too. Worth saving up for! Thanks to everyone there for a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Staggered G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dylan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing