We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Thai Restaurant

Bird Thai Restaurant
Ranked #179 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Taken here by a colleague, and realise I have eaten in their snackbar before.

Nice food, a decent Tom Ka Gai, quite sweet but flavoursome. Also they do North Eastern Thai food, which I really like. I had Laab and sticky rice, which was very good.

We sat upstairs and it has a nice atmosphere, plus the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not too pricey, overall a pleasant thai meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    489
    144
    43
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We were told that it would be no wait and ok for 7.00 pm no problem
But it was a problem
Crazy idiot system of waiting
Not good for tables of +6
We only needed 2 and it was an hour wait in an entranceway
Plan accordingly

Helpful?
Thank Bruciebogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic recomendation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

First night in Amsterdam and I could ask for a better place to start my adventure: Bird! I friend of mine told me that it could take a while to get a seat because its always crowded but the time we awaited was worthed. Great meal, fantastic food. A must when in A'dam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brunojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bird ALWAYS BUZY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is in my opinion one of the best Thai restaurants in whole of Amsterdam .. Food is great! It really is only make shure you make reservations a couple of days before because There Will be no way youll get a spot when you didnt,food is great and the owner is always there, thats something that gives me a good feeling, the prices are OKE! You Will Pay around 15/20 euro's for a dish but it is worth it it really is if you'd like quality.. This is the Thai thing for you! I really enjoyed it and. Im coming back for shure !

Helpful?
Thank Michael-Stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. There was a small queue when we arrived but it moved quickly ? We soon could see why it was so popular. The food is Cheap, fast and fantastic. I had the chicken with cashew nuts which was delicious. My husband had a chilli and basil red curry which was amazing.

Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishfoodie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing