We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to eat.”

Bird Thai Restaurant
Ranked #174 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place to eat.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

very casual atmosphere and good food. service wasn't the best but i found that a lot of places in amsterdam were similar - maybe just a dutch thing? i don't know!

i'll be making a return here for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    550
    169
    54
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Three stories of Thai...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is one popular Thai restaurant (http://www.thai-bird.nl/) in the middle of the red light district. Three and a half stories packed with Thai food connoisseurs, every evening of the week. It's virtually buzzing with life in this vibrant place. The waiters are efficient and make sure that no order gets lost or is delivered late. The menu is book-size and filled with delicious Thai food choices. The quality of the food we had was excellent and the portions were of a good size. Their prices are very reasonable. Drinks choices are plentiful and the menu features all the popular cocktails. Check the web-site for days that reservations are accepted. Otherwise, just pop in and try your luck!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Idenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Like :)”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a recommendation and really liked it. Kind of cramped waiting for a table in the entry way but once we were seated, the waiter came fast and so did the food. If you like spicy food, you can ask for spice to be brought to the table but watch out! If you use to much, your food will be on fire! :) The portions were good size and the food was very tasty. The prices were fair and I felt that I got a lot for my money. Would go back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Can't move today. Really sick”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had the ribs last night and they looked so dry. Looked reheated but being an idiot I ate them. Bad mistake. Spent all last night laying on the bathroom floor being sick and today. Can't actually leave the hotel room :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service and huge portions.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Were content to let me wait in the warmth of their entry for over 20 minutes while I waited for friends to show up and were very friendly. Food was very good and huge portions. I had the tofu red curry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing