We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the wait to get a table”

Bird Thai Restaurant
Ranked #193 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait to get a table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A Dutch friend recommended Bird Thai, and it lived up to expectations. The food (and we tried lots of dishes) was consistently wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful. And the setting is charming, with handcarved benches and tables. No wonder that there was a line to get in, even midweek during the winter!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    523
    162
    52
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

After reading the great reviews of Bird, my boyfriend and I went to have dinner there tonight, and it was definately worth it! We got a table after only 5 minutes waiting. The service was good and the orders came quickly. We ordered a pot of Jasmine tea, as well as the spring rolls as a starter and then I ordered chicken pad thai and my boyfriend had sweet/sour beef. The food was very good and fresh, tasted delicious and the portions were so big that we were very stuffed in the end!
The food was great, although the atmosphere was a little noisy and busy, rather than intimate and cozy. But we would definately recommend this restaurant for some great Thai food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, honest Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've been to Bird numerous times and it's always good. And it's fast too. Try to avoid peak hours, though, because there might be a queue to get in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Really great food, good service and reasonable value. I'm a lover of Thai food and the prawn pad Thai was excellent! Also huge portions. Go there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melbournite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not so amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The restaurant is obviously very popular as we had to wait for our table for a while (nothing wrong with that). The ambiance of restaurant is very friendly, the menu with various selections and service quite decent. The food was however without 'wow' factor, quite average and not so cheap. I did not touch my 'spicy duck salad' as it was way too salty and chewy. The staff did not bother to ask about it, did not offer desserts or coffee and were very pleased we were leaving. Well, there was a queue of other tourists waiting downstairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgaiMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing