We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”

Bird Thai Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in Amsterdam for 5 days in October 2012. We found The Bird Restaurant and ate there our first night. It was so good, we went back twice more while in Amsterdam. If you like Thai food, give it a try, it's delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    537
    166
    54
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had dinner at Bird on a Saturday night without reservations, within minutes we were seated. We ordered spring rolls and chicken satay with an amazing peanut sauce for starters. For entrees we had Pad Tai with chicken, chicken fried rice, and spicy chili pepper beef with white jasmine rice. Our waiter was very pleasant and the service was just as nice. We will defiantly return!

During lunch time they have a snack bar across the street that serves a small version of their menu. Small inside but worth the wait. (we loved dinner so much we went back for lunch the next day and was informed of Bird Snackbar)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thaied up!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Friendly staff. Good food and large portions. But we never got the spring rolls, which was a good thing in the long run because we were stuffed anyway. Amusing waiter who nocked over an empty bottle and the laughed hysterically at the situation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim77188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply my favorite Thai in Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Bird and its snack at the opposite side of the street are simply the two best Thai in Amsterdam. Their Pad Thai is absolutely fantastic, and their Tom Ka Kai is amazing.
The food is fresh, the flavor are amazing, the service is good and quick, the personnel always smiling.
If you go there you can not be disappointed. It is simply delicious and affordable.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great find”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great Thai restaurant in central Amsterdam. I’ve eaten Thai in many cities around the world including in Thailand, and this was one of the best Thai meals I have ever had.
Start with Tom Yam soup (lemongrass, ginger, chilli) if you’ve never had it before – incredible flavor and as authentic as if you were having it in Bangkok. Red curry with Coconut for main course was simply fantastic.

The restaurant was packed on a Monday night, so expect a wait to get in. When I left it was about 7pm, and the line was up the street, so get there early. It’s well worth the wait and you won’t be disappointed.

Note that this restaurant is on the edge of the ‘seedy’ area of Amsterdam, but if you approach from the North you can avoid passing anything you wouldn’t want to see if you are with family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainLumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing