We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special occasion”

Sluizer Restaurants
Ranked #190 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Excellent food on the Utrechtsestraat. Ideal for a birthday / anniversary. Been multiple times, can't fault it. Quality of food and wine, service, all top notch. Probably our favourite restaurant in Amsterdam.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank weeboaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you I hope you'll spread your oppinion as often as possible. It was our pleasure to give you an enjoyable evening out. Till next time ! Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    174
    36
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Gorgeous food and lovely friendly staff...definitely recommend. We had two courses each and then an amazing shared dessert platter of mini selections.... Just the right amount!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allcard27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
A happy review makes all my collegues happy too. Thank you and we hop to see you back when you're in Amsterdam. Kind regards Marco owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeist
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great and intimate place in Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sluizer never let you down. The quality is still as good as its reputation. A fine choice, based on the season. Very friendly and courteous staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripZeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're proud hearing so much positive stories. We hope to see you back soon and in the mean time, please share it with your friends, kind regards Marco Dijkhuis
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“No 1 in Amsterdam In My View”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been here several times now and never been disappointed. Everything about this place is just so. Top quality ingrediants, beautifully, yet simply prepared and with a real punch of flavour. Service is attentive without being intrusive; polite without being formal and extemely knowleedgable (our young waiter waxed lyrical regarding the creme de casis options and was able to discuss any item in real detail). Excellent menu and fine wine selection (the Gruner Veltliner RESERVE, whilst expensive - Euro 45, is outstanding. Fish in particular is prepared wonderfully. all in all hard ot fault - it's just 100% spot on! It's not cheap; but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and tell the whole world... You have experienced us as we like to be experienced. We hope to enjoy your company in the near future Kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Still alive after 35 years”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Relaxed, enough space, pleasant service in a nice area in Amsterdam. We had a nice evening, but we were not impressed by the taste and quality of our food. The sauce with the fish was to thin/watery, meat not that special and all in all € 50 pp including tip and the house wine a little on the high site. The kitchen should spent a little more time and buy a little better meat and fish should increase the number of visitors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was surprised by your comments and I hope your feedback was also done to my staff on the night itself. We buy our meat, greens and fish fresh on a daily basis so in case we can be of service to you again please mention the review and my name (Marco) and we'll make extra sure everything will be as all our other guests experience us.
kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer Restaurants also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing