We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and intimate place in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sluizer Restaurants

Sluizer Restaurants
Ranked #179 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Seafood, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
zeist
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great and intimate place in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sluizer never let you down. The quality is still as good as its reputation. A fine choice, based on the season. Very friendly and courteous staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripZeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're proud hearing so much positive stories. We hope to see you back soon and in the mean time, please share it with your friends, kind regards Marco Dijkhuis
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    143
    31
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“No 1 in Amsterdam In My View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been here several times now and never been disappointed. Everything about this place is just so. Top quality ingrediants, beautifully, yet simply prepared and with a real punch of flavour. Service is attentive without being intrusive; polite without being formal and extemely knowleedgable (our young waiter waxed lyrical regarding the creme de casis options and was able to discuss any item in real detail). Excellent menu and fine wine selection (the Gruner Veltliner RESERVE, whilst expensive - Euro 45, is outstanding. Fish in particular is prepared wonderfully. all in all hard ot fault - it's just 100% spot on! It's not cheap; but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and tell the whole world... You have experienced us as we like to be experienced. We hope to enjoy your company in the near future Kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Still alive after 35 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Relaxed, enough space, pleasant service in a nice area in Amsterdam. We had a nice evening, but we were not impressed by the taste and quality of our food. The sauce with the fish was to thin/watery, meat not that special and all in all € 50 pp including tip and the house wine a little on the high site. The kitchen should spent a little more time and buy a little better meat and fish should increase the number of visitors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was surprised by your comments and I hope your feedback was also done to my staff on the night itself. We buy our meat, greens and fish fresh on a daily basis so in case we can be of service to you again please mention the review and my name (Marco) and we'll make extra sure everything will be as all our other guests experience us.
kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Relaxed ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Chosen by our local hosts as a good place to meet and discuss business, whilst eating well. A very informal setting, with attentive and friendly service, I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

The food choice was limited to a number of starters and mains under headings of veggie, meat, fish etc. I had some very tasty seared scallops and then a different take on beef Stroganoff - oh, and an Amaretto creme brulee. All excellent and not bad value.

I would definitely return for an evening meal or meeting, except perhaps for a proper romantic session, as it is quite open and bright!

Helpful?
Thank Simon_Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this positive review. We're glad you've enjoyed it, we love to see you back to share another wonderful night. kind regards Marco Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were in Amsterdam for a convention and one night we needed a conveniently located restaurant and with good food. We ended up at Sluizer and it was a great choice. We had to conduct business over dinner and this restaurant was quiet, charming, with great service and great food.
Excellent choice and will go back next time I am in Amsterdam.
The servers were a pleasure to deal with and very attentive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverDan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank for enjoying our restaurant, we hope you'll mention it to all your friends and collegues! Hope to see you again next time you're back in Amsterdam.

Kind regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer Restaurants also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing