We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional dutch restaurant”

Sluizer Restaurants
Ranked #193 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
Bath
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A traditional dutch restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had passed this and liked that if was full, so came back the next day, it looks like a french bistro, (Benny!) has very accomodating friendly staff. And serves Dutch traditional food, we had the "menu" which was soup, small dover soles which just melted in your mouth, and a array of chocolate desserts, it was delicious, washed down by some good wine, we stayed in this relaxed setting for a couple of hours and would certainly recommedn a visit, about 35 euro's a head

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluizer, Owner at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you, we could not wish for a more friendly review. Hope to see you back soon and we would appreciate it if you give a "like" on our Facebook page

Best regards Marco Dijkhuis, owner Sluizer Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    171
    34
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice - premium service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice restaurant with excellent service. The meal was delicious - I strongly recommend duck breast with orange sauce.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nermin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sluizer, Owner at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us and for your friendly recommendation. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards Marco Dijkhuis, owner Sluizer Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent five days in Amsterdam on our way to a Kenyan Safari and then one day on the way back home to Vancouver. We lucked in to a drop-in visit to Sluizer and enjoyed it so much we went back two nights later with friends, sent others on another night and could hardly wait to go back for a third time on our return trip. Marco and the entire staff made each visit a memorable occasion that went far beyond great food and wine. Sluizer is almost worth a trip back to Amsterdam all on it's own. If Sluizer was in Vancouver we would be keeping it secret just so we could get in!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluizer, Owner at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This is a nice surprise, we won't forget your kind words and maybe.... who knows???? There will be a Sluizer Restaurant in Vancouver in the future.

Best regards

Marco Dijkhuis
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice surprise! Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recommended by a Dutch lady (saw me eating a horrible sandwich I bought in Zaanse Schaans) she did not want me to leave with a bad impression of Dutch food. When we arrived a very friendly waitress asked us if we would like the surprise menu. You could choose between vegetarian, meat or fish but you did not know what was served and how was cooked. We accepted the challenge and it was delicious. We had a selection of 3 small starters consisting of 3 different types either fish or meat. For main course 2 choices of fish/meat potatoes, and vegetables cooked in different way. And to complete 3 small portions of amazing desserts. The food was amazing, the service very good with the waiter explaining what we were eating and how was cooked. All in all EXCELLENT!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluizer, Owner at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We're glad you have enjoyed it and that you're having a positive view on Dutch restaurants now!

Tell it to others and hopefully we'll see back soon.

Best regards,

Marco Dijkhuis
Owner Sluizer Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place for fish”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A great fish restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam. Long tradition of serving great food. With good weather and timely reservation, one may get a table in the garden.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gosto_de_comentar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluizer, Owner at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, it's always a pleasure to have satisfied guests.

Hope to see you again .

Best regards,
Marco Dijkhuis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer Restaurants also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing