We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were on a short break in Amsterdam, and naturally had a quick look on Trip Advisor for ideas of where to eat. We are so glad that we did - the food was some of the best that we have had for a long time.
We took advantage of the early bird offer - 2 for 1 on the two course menu. It was an absolute bargain and we would have happily paid full price for our meals. Our starters of a deconstructed Ceaser salad for him and crab cakes for me set the tone for the whole meal - generous portions of top class ingredients lovingly prepared. For our main course we both had the surf and turf which was delicious, the steaks were cooked to perfection accompanied by succulent, flavourful shrimps. No room for desserts, but I am sure they would not have disappointed.
We will definitely recommend Seasons to friends and are looking forward to eating there when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review here on TripAdvisor for others to see. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening.

Yes the Early-Bird Special is an "absolute bargain", but thanks for mentioning that " we would have happily paid full price for our meals".

Having a "Surf and Turf" with those starters I can understand where there was no room for dessert, but do try them next time.

Again thanks and we kook forward to having you come back to see us soon.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    349
    101
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find in a lovely part of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Of all the restaurants we tried in Amsterdam, this was by far our favorite. The food was superbly cooked, the staff were very attentive and helpful, and the food was very reasonably priced. I will definitely recommend it to anyone who I hear is visiting Amsterdam, as it's close to the city center, and in a lovely district. I'll definitely be back for a visit.

Tip: try the scallops, they're amazing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Xplored,

Thanks for your nice review and glad to hear that we were a favorite of all your dining experiences while here in Amsterdam.

We will pass on your comments to the kitchen and service personnel and glad to hear that you will be telling more people about us.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely flavours in a cosy setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We wandered in without a booking on a Saturday evening in January and they were happy to accommodate us, although they did fill up shortly thereafter.

The menu offered plenty of variety of cuisines and we settled for a two-course menu, starting with the crab cakes and the duck and Clementine salad. Both starters were of good size with plenty of great flavours.

We couldn't resist the sound of the unique surf-and-turf for mains, a combination of deconstructed beef Wellington, fillet of beef on a puff pastry, and firecracker prawns with a creamy sambal sauce and basil mash. We were glad we both chose this as we each would have been jealous of the other had we not. The flavours were fantastic, especially the firecracker prawns for which the restaurant seems to be known.

Its definitely worth a visit, and with the number of delicious-looking items on the menu we would visit again to sample more of it, were we staying longer than a weekend break.

Helpful?
Thank Djtripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear DJTripreviewer,

Thanks so much for your kind review...and love the title..."Lovely flavours in a cosy setting"..great way to get it all in 6 words!

We do offer plenty of variety even during the winter months were there is plenty to choose from. Yes the "Fire Shrimp" all still a hit.

Too bad you did not get a chance to visit again and try other dishes, but I am sure we will be around your next visit to Amsterdam and hope to see you again.

Again thanks

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“courtesy and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The restaurant is nice, the service is excellent and the food is good. Pretty cheap, is located not far from dam square.
I suggest you to go there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Fabio,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor.

Glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, service and the food. I might have to disagree about "cheap" though....good food and service at a reasonable price.

Hope you make it back to see us again in the future.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely divine, a thoroughly wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

What can I say I quite honestly don't know where to begin. We booked here for our new years eve meal and I'm so glad we did ! 4 courses and each was exquisite. Coupled with excellent service and a lovely atmosphere, what more could you ask for. We enjoyed our meal on new years eve so much we had to return only a couple of days later. It really is that good ! The surf and turf is out of this world ! We will definitely be returning next time we're in Amsterdam. Best meal we have ever had ! And we have eaten at some top restaurants throughout the UK.

Highly recommended.

I'd just like to finish by thanking everyone at Seasons for the wonderful experience we had on both occasions.
Can't wait to visit again. Hopefully as soon as possible.

Thankyou again and good luck and all the best for 2014 from John and Rachael.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jty1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear JTY1986,

So glad to hear that you really enjoyed your New Year's Experience with us. So much so that you came back a couple of days later.

The Surf and Turf is a great dish made with a combination of two of our favorite dishes....Inside-Out Beef Wellington and Fire Shrimp.

Thanks also for send a "private note to the staff via this site, we will be sure to let them know.

We do hope to see you again on your return visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing