We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern dutch cuisine in a comfortable setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
New England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Modern dutch cuisine in a comfortable setting.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked Seasons because they had early seatings...and we were looking for a comfortable setting for our first meal in town, after flying overnight.

We were impressed by all aspects of the meal. Prompt quick service, innovative modern cuisine, in a cosy storefront setting. Fresh veggie and healthy options, fair prices, and a 2 for 1 option for early dinner if you book online.

It was has an english menu, that was easy to navigate, and a polite and efficient staff. Overall Seasons is a nice easy mix of comfortable surroundings with quality food choices presented nicely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sandmanly,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor for other guests to read.

You seem to size us up nicely with your comment..."overall Seasons is a nice easy mix of comfortable surroundings with a quality food choices presented nicely."

Thanks and we hope to see you again.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    361
    104
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely gem of a restaurant . My husband had the best soup he's ever eaten , a little island of tasty crab sitting in a sea of creamy corn soup . My vegetarian option of grilled halloumi stack was delicious. The chef here has a wonderful touch with marinating & dressings .
The restaurant is cosy , quite simply decorated, sitting close to each other. I felt it added to the atmosphere .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Gourmeister,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the soup. I always think soup can be one of the nicest parts of a meal this time of year. A good one that is! Gets you warmed up and ready for the next course. And to be honest they do not have to be fancy....just good and straight forward.

Thanks for your comments ad we do hope you make it back!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent. Service warm & friendly. BUT beware of add ons that most restaurants in Amsterdam seem to add on to your bill. Such as tap water for 3 euros. Was an accidental find worth the effort

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank afriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Afriedel,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor glad you enjoyed your meal and found the service "warm & friendly".

I am not aware that most restaurants have add-ons to your bill in Amsterdam. We do charge for tap water and bread/olives if no other drinks are ordered. We could include this in our menu price, but feel that is not appropriate. This price of 1,50 euro per person is mentioned on our menu.

Glad this did not upset you to much and that you thought the "accidental find worth the effort".

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I try to go to at least 1 new dinner restaurant in Amsterdam each trip. Although it is only based on 1 dining experience, Seasons is my new favorite place. I will definitely make a reservation with every future trip. First of all, the reservation process was easy. I e-mailed them, they confirmed, and the table was ready at the stated time. This sounds straight forward, but it has not been my experience with a lot of restaurants in Amsterdam. We did the fixed price menu and every course ordered by all 4 people at the table was excellent. It was one of those meals where you know it doesn't matter what you order, it will be good. Very nice staff. I little more formal than I expected based on the website, but not overly so. Overall, a fantastic experience. I told a friend about it who was in the city the next week, and he agreed that it was among his favorite Amsterdam dining experiences ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank SigPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear SigDig,

It was nice to ready your detailed review here on TripAdvisor and we hope other guests find it just as helpful. I especially liked the part about making a reservation being straightforward. Your right this can be tricky in this city. Glad we got it right with you.

Good to hear that your entire party was pleased with the meal. Better yet that even when you recommended us to your friend and he also thought it "was among his favorite Amsterdam Dining experiences."

Hope toe see you again soon in the future.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Season's Restaurant”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I ate at Seasons and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Sweet place, great ambiance, lot of locals, wonderful meal, great wine. However, we booked our reservation as a two for one between 5 and 7. The menu says that it is fixed price, but when the bill came, we were charged 5 Euro extra for our beef and seafood selections for some reason. Also charged more than the fixed price on the menu. We did not make a fuss and look like ugly Americans, but did not appreciate the false advertising.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whereshallwego2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Whereshallwego2,

Thanks for your comment here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you enjoyed your meal and the evening, however it seems you were not happy when you received the bill.

We would have appreciated it if you had said something when you were in the restaurant and we could have explained your bill to you. We do not think people who question their bills as "ugly Americans", but wonder why people post things on the internet that could be easily explained when they occur.

So our explanation to your comment is that our Early Bird Special is between 5:00 - 6:00 on Weekdays and is 2 for 1 for our 2-course menu. Some of the items ( perhaps 5) have supplements on them if taken for a set menu. This is clearly written on the menu. Obviously you had some of these dishes. You also mentioned being charged more than the fixed price, which makes me wonder if you had a three course menu? ( I can not see that in your comment) But a bottom line in travelling is that if you are concerned about your bill, then you should ask before paying.

We do not do any false advertising as you claim and could have easily explained this to you while you were here.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing