We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just Shy of Excellence...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palace

Sea Palace
Ranked #260 of 3,376 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just Shy of Excellence...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had two VERY GOOD meals here during our week in Amsterdam. Absolutely beautiful floating palace of a restaurant...with exceptional views.
Dim Sum is a great lunch option, and our "Special Seafood Dinner for Two" was outstanding.
The SERVICE, however, NOT SO MUCH!
From the perspective of a food service professional, it appeared that there was little to no communication between the waitstaff, (3 servers took our drink orders, et), seated with no menus, and waited 15 minutes to be greeted after seating. Service improved once we ordered, and things got moving.
The place is VERY BUSY, and VERY LARGE, and being on Holiday, we can be somewhat forgiving....this is Europe, and you are expected to dine slowly....that said, I would still highly recommend the Sea Palace for the food, but don't expect the service to match the price points.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    449
    202
    87
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Not an obvious choice for eating out in Amsterdam, but I'm glad we opted for an expensive evening out!

Great service in a striking floating restaurant with great food.

The aromatic duck was fantastic, as were the main meals that followed.

Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Forgot us!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We sat down and ordered our drinks and we got normal coke instead of diet coke and the Wrong type of beer :-(
We then ordered our starters and the lady said she would come back and take our main order
We got our starters and they were all wrong again :-(
We ordered more drinks and we got normal coke again instead of the diet coke we ordered :-(
We then waited for someone to clear the table of our starter plates and take our mains order but when we got the attention of someone they said the kitchen was shut, we said you are joking and he said he wasn't :-(
He then said he will speak to the manager and after 15 to 20 mins he came back and said he could do nothing for us and said he could do us a cold desert, what a total joker!!
I then said I would like the bill and paid and left, they did say sorry but what good was that as they ruined one of our nights in Amsterdam :-(
No manager came over!!
They were too busy taking pics of people and having a laugh at the bar to bother with us :-(
I did tell them that I would write about out treatment but they didn't care
Very unprofessional restaurant and Manager
Any Questions you can mail me at nicolesherisanderson@yahoo.co.uk
I don't just comment and hide, this was all true
Nicole

Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good -but expensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really nice Chinese food. A big menu with a lot of options. The dishes with veal/beef are fantastic and fish is also good. The location is very convenient: just 5-minute walk from Central Station. Average cost per person around 50 €

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Thought of going there for some years now, finally did it. Disappointing. The duck had more bones than meat. Saté was just that, nothing next to accompany it. Staff was friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank etjoset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Palace also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing