We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dinner with culinary show” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ranked #10 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $118
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Valencia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner with culinary show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The restaurant is situated inside the Okura Hotel and it features a beautiful Japanese ambiance, very romantic. Sazanka is traditional and modern at the same time. The ingredients used are fresh and prime quality and the service very attentive. Everything is cut and cooked right under your eyes, by a young, yet talented chef with a wealth of imagination. We loved that every dish was prepared with the utmost attention before the final plates ended up in front of us. The food is beyond amazing! A must try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    114
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazingly Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

If i died tmrw i would be happy as i have managed to dine at the finest teppanyaki place in the world. The food was amazing, the service excellent & the experience exquisite. We had the seasonal menu and it was awesome. Wonderful place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, and great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of our Executives gave his farewell dinner there, and we loved him for choosing this place .

This is obviously one of the best Teppanyaki restaurants in Amsterdam, and it comes at a price.
But the price tag is entirely justified. The quality of the food, the presentation (the dishes nare obviously hand made and unique pieces of japanese eartherware ceramics), and the athmosphere are just perfect.

The only disappointment is that the cook seemed (like the others) a bit stressed and rushed. I have enjoyed less tasty teppanyakis, but the entertainment provided by the cook/chef was usually more evident - a bit gloomy and business-like this time

But by all means : go for it, if you (or yur company) can afford it. it is an unforgettable experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Knowledgeable staff and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went for the tasting meny with the appropriate wine selection, and were not disappointed. Teppanyaki is always fun and the chefs here had the basic food- and artistic skills to make it an enjoyable experience. The staff was very welcoming in a way that was perceived to be driven by real interest in the experience of their customers. Especially the wine was selected carefully and even people without knowledge in the field would appreciate this.

However, do not expect to spend less than around 100 EURO per person. This is a high-end establishment, not your typical 'more food for less' and it should be treated as such. We are looking forward to a return in the not all too distant future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This a real Teppan-Yaki restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was for us the second time in this restaurant. The food what they give you is really first class.
We took extra the Wagyu meat and was really super.
A 350 meal for two is not cheap but it is really special.
We will come again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmanuelMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing