We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ranked #6 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $124
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked a different restaurant by mistake and arrived at Sazanka thinking it was the one we had booked. Apparently this is not unknown as the maitre'd (Kar Wing Fung) explained. It appears that the website had recently been hacked which gave rise to this error. He offered us a table despite the restaurant being very busy as it was a Friday evening. We sat at the unusual table shared by 4 other guests in front of us being a large hot plate where the personal chef was to prepare and cook our order. Efficient and attentive without being in any way intrusive is how best to describe the service. The wine and the cuisine were both superb. There was no attempt to rush us through our meal but the advice given by both Mr Fung and the female wine waiter could not be bettered. Absolutely terrific in every way and a different experience to be recommended whole heartedly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MackandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    101
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Teppanyaki ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

In Sazanka Restaurant I had the best Teppanyaki I 've ever tasted up to this moment! The staff were all japanese and extremely attentive and friendly. Our specially trained japanese chef could adapt dishes and take into account any special dietary needs on the spot. The atmosphere was really good with hip but also classy notes. The food was extraordinary! For starters we had scallop and prawn salad ( see pics) and prawns with japanese mushrooms (see pics). For main we had fresh sea bass with its crispy skin separated (see pics), accompanied by a delicious leek sauce. Once at Okura hotel where Sazanka is located, private parking is available upon payment. Also parking at the streets around the hotel is possible at a slightly lower fee. Sazanka's prices definitely reflect the quality of the restaurant's food and service. If planning to dine there in a weekend it would be definitely worth making your reservation well in advance. Sazanka is a unique restaurant, ideal for special occasions! I would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Your usual Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

You will definately need a reservation on a weekend night , we were lucky enough to get space for 2 on a friday. You will not be dissapointed with this restaraunt, do not think of this place as your run of the mill teppanyaki with peforming chefs and mediocre food. All the ingredients used were extremely fresh, and the service was quick and efficient. We tried their specialty Fish which was Grill/steamed in salt, which was amazing. And the Duck breast salad with Duck liver was exquisite.
All that being said, it is located within a 5 star hotel, so you can expect to be paying 5 star prices.

The White Sesame ice cream was something else, Its the first time ive seen White sesame ice cream with majority of japanese restaraunts serving the black sesame Ice cream worth the visit just for the ice cream!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ph4Y5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in The Netherlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Oke, true that it will cost you but it is so worth it. After a day Amsterdam with partner and daughter we decided that we wanted quality Teppanyaki food. We knew the Okura Teppanyaki restaurant from years ago and without making a reservation we just went there. Space enough no reservation needed. Started with, Sushi (soft shell crab inside out) afterwards the smoked duck salad (sooooo good) followed by the Gamba, Lobster, Shabu Sabu (of wagyu beef) and fried rice from the Teppan plate. It was just delicious. It comes with a little show but for sure not overdone. If you want to spend a little extra money on quality Teppanyaki just find out yourself. We loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HJTRAVELPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. One of the best in Amsterdam.

But, the atmosphere is not special, almost like a hotel lobby. Individual seating is cramped due to missing leg room. Service is good, but a bit stiff.

Value for the money is not good.

Bottom line: sure thing for food, very expensive and so so atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank listenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing