We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really lovely place great food and cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose's Cantina

Rose's Cantina
Ranked #1,178 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely place great food and cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I went to this restaurand my second night in Amsterdam and it was really busy(it was saturday night) , and I tried my luck to get a table and it was after 9pm and the manager said no problem and after 5 minutes we got our table and I've said that I had the Amsterdam card so if we could get a special menus and discount and the guy said that are not in that offer anymore since the start of 2013 and after noticed that we were a bit dissappointed he offered us a 15% and we were so happy about it!!! So we order some tortillas and I had the burger and my girlfriend a lamb that was perfectly cooked ( I am a Chef) and we really enjoyed the time in there so def I will back here in my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    83
    43
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quick meal and cocktail before the movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A colleague of mine recommended Rose's Cantina. I went her with a friend for a quick bite before visiting the movie. The staff was very friendly, took our coats and helped us quickly since we had to catch a movie.

We shared a plate of nachos and ordered the burger and enchilada, we both enjoyed the food. I also really enjoyed the Old Fashioned Whisky Cocktail that I ordered, it was a little piece of art and tasted like it should. Good to find out that there still are some restaurants that know how to prepare cocktails.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My friends and I went for dinner after NYD, the food is delicious - make sure you are hungry because there is a lot to eat! the margaritas are excellent!! But the service was slow and though the staff is friendly but they kept forgetting our order

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent service, friendly atmosphere, very cosmopolitan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've been there last week after NYD , and i ve got impressed about cocktails and Food. The lounge upstairs was very cosy and everyone spoke English . Service was impeccable . As soon as i come back to Amsterdam , no doubt I m going to visit them again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarTresandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Only go if you are REALLY hungry...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I don't eat little.. I eat quite a lot. I pride myself on being able to eat 18 hot wings by myself... and still the enchilada at Rose's beat me. It is brilliant in taste, however definitely for those with bigger appetite :-) Additionally, the margaritas are quite excellent, and service pleasant.
I would say it's a bit expensive, however taking into consideration the location, the quality of food and the amazing service - it is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PolishAmsterdammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Cantina also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rose's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing