We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our favorite restaurant experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Ranked #361 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $33
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

In Amsterdam, if you would like a superb Michelin star dinner served by an extraordinary staff that manages to combine a respectful attitude with a quality of personal friendliness, you should not miss the Vermeer Restaurant. We started with aperitif before a cozy fire in the lounge, where we were served first one amuse bouche and then another. One was prepared dramatically before our eyes by freezing a tarragon sauce with dry ice. I ordered the four-course menu and my husband the seven-course menu with wine pairing. Each course was served with the same graceful but friendly attitude by the servers, who gave interesting explanations of the creative and extremely delicious combination of local ingredients by their talented chef. We would definitely recommend the wine pairing, since the sommelier was amazing and had chosen excellent wines - in some cases unusual choices - all of which we loved. We asked for and received a list of the wines so that we could try to duplicate them at home. This was one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had and one I would recommend to all our friends. We are eager to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
227 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Hi end restaurant that fancies itself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Vermeer is centrally located just across from Central Station, It is fitted out like a stylish house from the last century. Clearly they think they are great and most reviewers agree with them. I found the experience OK but not fantastic. Some things are incongruous - fancy restaurant with all the clients dressed to impress, but the maitre D wears jeans and sneekers. I had a hashed pumpkin starter (very interesting texture, nice taste), then their signature dish of mixed vegetables (ouff) and then reindeer (good but tiny portions). Dessert was all (intense) choclate. Not somewhere I would go back to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A group of us dined here and our experience was quite nice.
We were offered either a four or seven course menu or a la carte. We chose the four course menu with the wine paring.
I had venison which was exquisite!
Service was wonderful and attentive. A very good evening out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Optibeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a business dinner at Vermeer near the end of a Europe trip - the service was excellent and very interesting, the food innovative but more than ample and very tasty, and the wines excellent (wonderful that they had a stunning Grosset Riesling for about 50 euros). There are certainly other restaurants around the world that bring the whole experience together a little better, but Vermeer does a wonderful job and deserves their star.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trying to impress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Vermeer Restaurant (Prins Hendrikkade 59) looks very, very pretty: candles, long white tablecloths, thick dark ceiling beams, framed pictures, chandeliers... because, although it's a part of the Barbizon Palace bought by the Spanish NH Hotels and not particularly 'vermeerish', the name 'Vermeer' conjures beauty. In small doses: the restaurant is very small (what tries to mean 'exclusive') and it you want to experience it you'd better make reservations.
I recommend Scallops (not as good as in Monterey Bay, Ca.), Lamb (not as young and good as in the UK) and Cheesecake (not as good as in NYC). Therefore everything is good in a second-place sort of way. When you try to impress bare in mind you'll be compared to others that really impressed you.
I don't know if there was a restaurant at the Barbizon before it being bought by the NH Hotels, and if there was one I don't know what it was like. But the Spanish chain cannot avoid being Spanish and, of course, trying to impress: part of the national character. So it's up to the guest to give it a try and decide by himself. That's what we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing