We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Ranked #390 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Restaurant Vermeer just opposite Amsterdam’s Central Station in the Barbizon Palace Hotel is one of the finest restaurants in the city. The luxurious Old Dutch décor – marble tiled floors, monumental fireplaces, Delft tiles and plates, austere chandeliers – does suggest something of the master painter’s interiors. But it would take more than a servant-girl’s pearl earring wages to properly enjoy a meal at Vermeer. This is Michelin-starred, high-end, complex, refined European cuisine under the deft hand and watchful eye of Chris Naylor. The menu includes various irresistible multi-course and tasting options, and, while it changes with the season, offers dishes like starter of caviar and Colchester oysters served with veal tongue, truffle, red beet and seaweed chutney, main course of penne pasta with pheasant, walnuts, acorn bread and oloroso crème, and dessert of custard tart with figs, muscovado sugar and raisins. The wine list includes more than 300 labels, and you’ll want to avail yourself of the excellent sommelier’s opinions. Two private rooms can accommodate up to 20 or 30 respectively for memorable celebrations and events.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We had the 7 course tasting menu, but ultimately received over 14 different courses once you factor in the amuse bouches and pre-dessert offering as well. The service was top-notch and the sommelier was very helpful in suggesting an excellent wine to pair with our meal. The chef was very accommodating of my food restrictions. All in all an amazing 4.5+ hour meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    41
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“An unbelievable dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent food, nice atmosphere. We took seven course tasting menu with accompanying wines, sommelier was entertainment in itself. Food and wines are delicious. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riikka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful and memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely first class in every way. Head chef Chris Naylor trained under Albert Roux and follows the master's philosophy of lettings the finest ingredients speak for themselves. The imaginative wine parings are in the same league. Mortgage your grandmother and eat here!

Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A full-on taste and pleasure experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

An unbelievable dining experience! I can fully agree with most of the reviewers that this is one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam ... but beware certainly not cheap in fact the only misleading info was actually the TA 'price range' of €25-28 You'll need to double that for not very much.
We opted for the 7 course taster with accompanying wines, sommelier was entertainment in itself, wines selected were mostly very good if not sensational , and as you would expect very well suited for the varying subtleties between , for example, a prawn foam, then cod ensemble then seabass to name three plates. Desserts followed suit - with designer style plates loaded with taste bombs.
Our total bill for the Tasting menu with wines was €420 for two< Was it good value?? It was right at the top end of the tolerance scale .... only very slightly nudged over by the €9 for a cup of green tea for my somewhat inebriated wife (which they could have thrown in as they had orchestrated her condition!).... but that certainly wouldn't stop us going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie247057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful evening at this restaurant. The dining room was lovely, the food was outstanding and the service 5 star. We chose the tasting menu with wine pairings and couldn't have been more delighted.The Chef Christopher Naylor was so informative and cheerfully answered our questions about the menu. The Maitre d'hôtel Niek Beute was absolutely charming and very professional with a deep knowledge of wine and food . A memorable evening. I hope to have the chance to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing