We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fabulous good in relaxed setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Ranked #98 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Fabulous good in relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved this restaurant close to the city of Amsterdam. From what I am told this restaurant have been under the management of the same owners since more than 10 years. Lovely Thai homemade food as starters and main dishes. We tried various dishes and all are good. Good is a little pricy but well worth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    97
    25
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thaï in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I discovered Rakang Thaï 4 years ago and I go to that restaurant each time I am in Amsterdam! I am sure to have a wonderful dinner! It's clearly of the best Thai I know! Food is just amazing, you can taste and smell all the flavours of Asia! The choice of dishes is huge and you can choose the level of spiciness for all them. This is simply delicious! If you like Thai restaurant, you will for sure be amazed by Rakang Thai!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccarine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Jam packed on a Saturday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were directed to this gem by our chum's hotel. There was only one table left and we were glad to have it. The restaurant is small and it was busy but as usual asian establishments do a very efficient job of excellent service. All our shared dishes were delicious as well as well chilled wine. Would definitely be back next time in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
301 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Evening meal for 2 after a canal boat trip with lots of wine. Chicken Sate starters. Neua Pad Prik King and Gebakken Noodles. Khiew Wan Gong. 6 x Singha beers. All delicious. Busy place with a good buzz. 90EU.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexmaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this place a lot, the food was just as it should be. A great thai place and you can order how THAI you really want it. ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gino O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing