We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thaï in Amsterdam!”
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Reserve with
Rakang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thaï in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I discovered Rakang Thaï 4 years ago and I go to that restaurant each time I am in Amsterdam! I am sure to have a wonderful dinner! It's clearly of the best Thai I know! Food is just amazing, you can taste and smell all the flavours of Asia! The choice of dishes is huge and you can choose the level of spiciness for all them. This is simply delicious! If you like Thai restaurant, you will for sure be amazed by Rakang Thai!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccarine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    125
    31
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Jam packed on a Saturday night”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were directed to this gem by our chum's hotel. There was only one table left and we were glad to have it. The restaurant is small and it was busy but as usual asian establishments do a very efficient job of excellent service. All our shared dishes were delicious as well as well chilled wine. Would definitely be back next time in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Evening meal for 2 after a canal boat trip with lots of wine. Chicken Sate starters. Neua Pad Prik King and Gebakken Noodles. Khiew Wan Gong. 6 x Singha beers. All delicious. Busy place with a good buzz. 90EU.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexmaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this place a lot, the food was just as it should be. A great thai place and you can order how THAI you really want it. ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gino O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my bf chose Rakang out of many Thai restaurants on Tripadvisor after reading the reviews and looking at the price range. We had a decent dinner for 2 on a Saturday night with starters of money bad, steamed roll then soups: tom kha kong, tom yum kong and salad yum woon sen (glass noodle with seafood in sweet and sour sauce) and koong chuchi (king prawn in coconut curry sauce served with dried boiled rice). The food was great, the service was excellent. Although the restaurant was really small and crowded which made it quite uncomfortable when we can hear clearly the conversations from other tables around (and of course they heard us as well), we had a wonderful night after ignoring the noises made by some Dutch girls talking, laughing loudly at the next table, also the 2 crying-all-nite babies right behind. However, the price wasnt as expected. Excluding the tea and and tips, it costed 80 euros, which was pricey for a 2-person dinner. Anyways, since the food was great and we were served by very friendly staffs, we felt satisfied with the dinner :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilviaLinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing