We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food”
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Reserve with
Rakang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Glasgow
Level Contributor
304 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Evening meal for 2 after a canal boat trip with lots of wine. Chicken Sate starters. Neua Pad Prik King and Gebakken Noodles. Khiew Wan Gong. 6 x Singha beers. All delicious. Busy place with a good buzz. 90EU.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexmaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    116
    28
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this place a lot, the food was just as it should be. A great thai place and you can order how THAI you really want it. ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gino O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my bf chose Rakang out of many Thai restaurants on Tripadvisor after reading the reviews and looking at the price range. We had a decent dinner for 2 on a Saturday night with starters of money bad, steamed roll then soups: tom kha kong, tom yum kong and salad yum woon sen (glass noodle with seafood in sweet and sour sauce) and koong chuchi (king prawn in coconut curry sauce served with dried boiled rice). The food was great, the service was excellent. Although the restaurant was really small and crowded which made it quite uncomfortable when we can hear clearly the conversations from other tables around (and of course they heard us as well), we had a wonderful night after ignoring the noises made by some Dutch girls talking, laughing loudly at the next table, also the 2 crying-all-nite babies right behind. However, the price wasnt as expected. Excluding the tea and and tips, it costed 80 euros, which was pricey for a 2-person dinner. Anyways, since the food was great and we were served by very friendly staffs, we felt satisfied with the dinner :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilviaLinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A tiny little place that holds so many people and great food and good portions. Simply delightful and very highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trotterzuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Rakang Thai on a recent trip to Amsterdam. The food, service, and atmosphere made for a memorable evening. The knowledge and kind waters were very helpful in guiding us to choose a delicious but not too spicy meal. We came away satisfied but not too full. I would definitely return to this gem of a restaurant. Go early or make reservations by email a week in advance. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing