We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai restaurant just off Princengracht”
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Reserve with
Rakang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice Thai restaurant just off Princengracht”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a small, smart casual Thai eatery situated just off Princengracht offering very good food, a nice busy atmosphere and good service. We thought prices were pretty reasonable and the house red was a good quality - otherwise only a small wine list. Probably best to book in advance- we went on a Sunday evening and there weren't many empty seats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    122
    30
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful food, totally delicious, even better service and great quirky decor, what more could you want. 100% recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I reserve a 5 rating for places that go beyond my expectations, this was very close.

Rakang Thai was absolutely wonderful food and a great environment. The meals were very tasty and I would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank clntng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Phenomenal.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My first ever 5 star review on trip advisor...

This place was a highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. The food was a sensational explosion of tastes and everything else - from the glassware to presentation of the bill(!) - surprised and delighted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 27Views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice family run Thai place”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went to Rakang Thai on the recommendation of our concierge at Andaz Amsterdam. She warned us that the place is not very fancy - but its a family run place with excellent food. We decided to go there and were not disappointed at all.

We went early and felt worried because we were the only people in the restaurant - but within 15 mins the place was full ! The staff managed very well - with some great recommendations (we are vegetarian so sometimes it can get very limiting) and we had a lovely time with some great food !

Highly recommended !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Priyank74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing