We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cool tapas place in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pata Negra

Pata Negra
Reserve with
Pata Negra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #852 of 3,633 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool tapas place in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Delicious tapas in a small resto with a very nice vibe. Friendly staff, fast service. Looking forward to trying their food more. The sangria had a strong kick!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maiabac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    148
    56
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Tapas are another thing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Despite all the enthusiastic comment about this place i found the tapas i ordered nothing of special. I have lived for one year in Sevilla and i know how tasty can be a tapas.Here instead tortilla tasteless, chicken ajillo with a very strong smell of chicken, ensaladilla ok and pescado a la plancha not bad. Service friendly and easy going and good atmosphere but the taste of Spain is another thing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pricey mot yummy and after so many years a real disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have visited this restaurant in this very nice street in the past many times. It changes from a nice and good tapas restaurant in a pricey, not clean, not tasteful place. It's all and only about the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pricey, but got this recommended by a friend and it had been a while since we had tapas. Cozy but small place, and no English menu (combined with a horrible sort of very small brush-font making it even more difficult to read the menu). We got help from someone in the staff speaking English though, so that was nice. Ate pretty much everything we got served, and the sangria was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dishonest lying staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and her friends just had a very bad experience at pata negra. After deciding to leave to go and eat elsewhere, a member of staff offered them a drink on the house if they stayed. They all asked for Sangria. After a very average dinner the invoice included a €25 charge for Sangria. After trying to explain to the manager what had happened, the staff member in question denied offering them the sangria stating the offer didn't count for sangria! and they had to pay for it.
As a member if the utrechtsestraat community and owner if a boutique hotel I will no longer recommend pata negra and send business their way. Disgusting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ayjtardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pata Negra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pata Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing