We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pricey but yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pata Negra

Pata Negra
Ranked #934 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pricey, but got this recommended by a friend and it had been a while since we had tapas. Cozy but small place, and no English menu (combined with a horrible sort of very small brush-font making it even more difficult to read the menu). We got help from someone in the staff speaking English though, so that was nice. Ate pretty much everything we got served, and the sangria was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    141
    56
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dishonest lying staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and her friends just had a very bad experience at pata negra. After deciding to leave to go and eat elsewhere, a member of staff offered them a drink on the house if they stayed. They all asked for Sangria. After a very average dinner the invoice included a €25 charge for Sangria. After trying to explain to the manager what had happened, the staff member in question denied offering them the sangria stating the offer didn't count for sangria! and they had to pay for it.
As a member if the utrechtsestraat community and owner if a boutique hotel I will no longer recommend pata negra and send business their way. Disgusting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ayjtardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pata Negra, a tapas paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

in a wonderful Summer evening we got delicious Tapas at Pata Negra. We try many of them and all tasted very original. The restaurant is located at a corner of the Utrechtsestraat and is a tapas bar, easy going and with a good service, helpful but not trying to recommend something based on the price. Some of them were from Spain.
We ate about 10 tapas and although the price is not cheap (in general Amsterdam is not cheap) the portions were generously sized.
I will return someday and I can recomend you to try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, but food upset my belly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice place to people watch and relax.

I had the pescado a la plancha for 8.50 euro, and there was very little to it. Maybe I just have weird foreign taste buds but it as too salty and greasy for me, and it made my stomach feel unsettled all day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have the luxury to visit Spain very often, and I eat tapas a lot!
To be honest: quality of the tapas at Pata Negra is authentical Spanish. But I think prices are just too high. I mean, it's just an ordinary tapas bar...

Helpful?
Thank EriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pata Negra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pata Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing