We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun, relaxing evening with nice staff and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta e Basta

Pasta e Basta
Ranked #122 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $113
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Pasta e Basta restaurant nearly opposite the Rijksmuseum has a name that simply doesn’t do it justice. It means ‘pasta full stop’ but really should trumpet the singing accomplishments and mad party atmosphere that the waiters and waitresses deliver. The dining room is splendid, with scarlet-covered chairs, flouncy wall sconces, dramatic drapes and fine art, while the bar area is more modern but just as operatic. The wait staff really truly can sing, everything from Billy Joel to grand opera, and they get the joint jumping. The long tables attract hens and big groups and the small cosy niches and bar are right for more intimate numbers, and it is just one fantastic evening. The menu is Italian, incorporating excellently-sourced meat, fish and veg. Anti pasti are served buffet-style from a chilled grand piano. Main courses always include eight pasta dishes like spaghetti with squid ragout, lasagne bolognaise with tapenade and sage, and penne with radicchio and goats cheese. International wine list matches the international musical programme. Groups are so welcome, and the entire venue seats 110.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing evening with nice staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a dinner there with a group of 14 people.
The food was very nice, although the service good have been faster.
The fact that have the staff was busy performing and singing resulted in us not noticing in how late it got.
The quality of the food was really good.
So, if you're in no rush and want to enjoy a fine meal with musical entertainment this is the place to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiejebetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    197
    60
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could've been so much better.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I came upon this place on the way back to our hotel. We were starving so decided to take a chance having read about it on Tripadvisor. They were packed but we managed to get two seats at the bar. The first 20mins of our visit were great. Introduction to how things are done there, drinks & plates for the antipasti buffet. From then on in, it was joust a bit of a chore really. Waited 45mins for our 3 types of pasta, one of which was pretty indelible. We were given at least 2 free drinks but that really didn't make up for the fact that by the time the food came neither of us were hungry because it had taken so damn long. Really wanted to love this place! The singing was fab the staff great but just doesn't make up for such a massive wait for the food itself, which has to be why you go to a restaurant in the fist place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam or Italy:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stumbled by this restaurant as we were walking through the streets of Amsterdam, we could not have been more pleased with our service and our food. As we were in the lobby looking over the menu one of the staff members came over to tell us the concept of Pasta e Basta. Most of the staff is local college students who are all very talented and as you are enjoying the fabulous food they take turns walking through the restaurant singing anything from classical to opera to pop songs. My husband and I sat at the bar and our waiter/bartenders Boris and Ivan were so much fun, not only did they give us excellent service but they were very entertaining as well. I would HIGHLY recommend Pasta e Basta. You may be in Amsterdam but trust me when you are inside this restaurant you are in Italy!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gringo style experience! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The waiters and waitresses apart from doing their job, they sing with live piano, an experience somebody may like a lot, and other may not like.
Food was OK but nothing special

Helpful?
Thank Willygooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful pasta, wonderful place, would come back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I came with my partner, for the marathon and wanted somewhere to have a pasta meal the night before. I had not read the reviews, but what a find. The starters and pasta were delightful and more than enough for the night before a marathon. The staff were so friendly and when they sang I was captivated. This was a fantastic way to enjoy pasta and Amsterdam, I would highly recommend and will return when I come back to Amsterdam.

Dr B

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta e Basta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pasta e Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing