We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is potential”
Review of Mercat - CLOSED

Mercat
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There is potential”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had not read the reviews here before we went out of our way to get there, and I am glad I didn't. Probably I would not have tried, since it really is quite a journey with public transportation and visitors seem more or less in agreement in the reviews. We enjoyed seeing this part of town despite the effort, and were excited about the atmosphere of the restaurant. We were greeted in a friendly manner and allowed to choose a table, because the place was almost empty. This waiter was good, but we experienced the variety later that evening, which has been described by other reviewers. The food was nice most of the time, but could be better. A committed manager/host could bring some balance and focus. Considering the other places we visited, we could not be as enthusiastic about this restaurant, but it does have potential and I would like to try it again some time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel-and-Sebnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    26
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal was passable but the service was awful”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was a solo traveller and one or two of the staff seemed to have a problem with this from their manner. The meal was OK, but as soon as I had eaten my plates were taken away but when I asked for the bill the waitress deliberately did everything but bring it. I waited for ever and ended up walking to the counter to do this. Rude.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasgcoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“'still suffering from inconsistency' ...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been to this place - a 'local' - 3 times in the past month ... by all standards, an 'inconsistent experience' ....
first time - serrano manchego salad with bravas sauce, manchego got left out... after being informed, they brought a sideplateful to compensate ...langostino salad good, garlic chicken was 'delicious' , crema catalan 'average and overpriced'.. good carajillo ..
second visit, serrano manchego revisited, all ingredients present but bravas sauce 'less accomplished' .. iberico porkloin with pork ragout was 'knockout' ..
third visit, langostino salad shrunk half in size, mingy as hell, charcuterie plate average, gambas plancha 'average' ..

This place is still suffering from inconsistency, so whether you get a 'really good meal' will be a pot-luck affair until they sort this out ... based on the 'most recent experience', it gets 'average' 3 stars .. though very easily it could get a higher grade, if they just get their act together ..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Service first and then the rest.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Made a booking and came 10 minutes before as I didn't know much about how far from my hotel it was. When arrived no one approached us for about 5 minutes to greeted us and to sit us. When that happened it was the manager who told us that our table was going to be readyin a matter of 5 to 10 minutes and asked us to wait on the bar. 52 minutes waited there and then when our table was given no one came to apologize for the waiting and the waitress took also her time to come to us to place our order. It shows that the service in general was poor but then when the food arrived it looked from frozen, tasteless and obviusly I coldn't say anything as not check back was given...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mwaaaaah”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In short: had breakfast here and service was very slow (despite almost empty restaurant) and food almost put us to sleep again. My advice: don't go out of your way to get here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adamgraffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing