We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Ranked #22 of 3,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place is really particular at all. The food, the ambiance and this is very nice place at all. We recently been there with friends and we have a great time. Any more words are enough then one word - excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    46
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is top notch. The setting, the food, the staff....totally faultless. My wife and i chose the Rive Gauche menu with wine at 115? + 85? each and worth every single penny/cent. We have been blessed to eat at some of THE very best retaurants (no name dropping)and this is as good as any without doubt. What made it especially memorabke was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Every single one of them seemed genuinely happy to be at work and to serve with a smile. Although an extra special mention should go to the somellier who was withoubt doubt our best ever!

Helpful?
2 Thank Chilledinagay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I ended up eating here on a recent business trip. My meetings the first day were nearby the restaurant and ran late, so a couple of us went there for a late supper. Even though near closing, they made us very welcome. The service was completely great in every way, and the food was delicious. The restaurant is very attractive and in a handy location. I will come back here happily when I am next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraMarch-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service & ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to La Rive last night and from the start to the finish couldn't fault the food, accompanying wine choices or the service.

Super attentive, fun and engaging staff. Food was delightful, tasty and a great choice of in season ingredients

Recommended if you want a intimate evening or even something more lively. It's not the cheapest restaurant but then Michelin food doesn't come cheap! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBabyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“All expectations met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a good quality restaurant for a special visitor and decided to use La Rive. This was an excellent choice! On entering the building it's design and architecture is first class and provides a wonderful introduction to the forthcoming meal.
Entering the restaurant, the view of the waterway is great. We were visiting in the evening and had to wonder how nice it would be during the day.
We all chose fixed menus without the additional wine flight. The good was really well prepared and presented The care in the preparation was more than exemplified by the flavours. 2 of us had veal for the main dish and believe it was the best we had ever tasted. Well done to the chef.

The staff were as expected in an establishment of this quality. They were all very knowledgeable and very attentive- without being obtrusive!

A great evening and definitely on me return list for the very near future.

Helpful?
1 Thank bensil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing