We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location BUT.....”
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Ranked #2 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Description: Dine in style by the river in La Rive. Culinary excellence and extraordinary hospitality restaurant La Rive in a class of its own. Under the inspired culinary leadership of Chef de Cuisine Roger Rassin, Maitre Ronald Opten and Sommelier Ted Bunnik, every guest is assured of a culinary experience. It is a member of the culinary association Alliance Gastronomique. The exceptional wine expertise of our three sommeliers and the specially commissioned porcelain and silver all contribute to a unique and unforgettable dining experience.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location BUT.....”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

La Rive was great the food was what dreams are made off "Fantastic" the staff was fabulous and position wonderful. It was expensive but it was worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewJanis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    61
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive, but you will enjoy it.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booking is mandatory. If you can, ask for a table in front of window.
Staff is very friendly and informative despite the very formal look.
Be aware that restaurant has only to menu choices, each one consisting of a preselection of 5 (you can adjust it from 3 to 6) dishes, but this doesn't mean you wil get stucked without choice as the food, including presentation, is very very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fmmjrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view, great food, a good place to splurge.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ate here while on a business trip. There are basically two menu choices - the right side or the left side. My colleague and ordered the opposite sides of the menu so we could see the entire presentation. The wait staff was excellent and so was the food. My favorite of the entire tasting was the candied tomato. I could have eaten an entire plate of those. If you are in Amsterdam and want to splurge on a high end dining experience, this is certainly a good place to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good food , THE people are very kind , we enjoy very Much . Thanks for the Cook and Waiter. We Will definetly visit agian .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive but Definitely Worth It!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived, 7pm reservations and Europeans tend to eat later. An amuse bouche of a single small tomato, with a whole list of things done to it was definitely the best mouthful of food I have ever eaten. Beware, the cost listed in our hotel guide did understate the price considerably. The menus offer limited choice and reasonably sized portions so that we did not leave feeling bad from eating too much. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing