We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant just outside the touristy areas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemelse Modder

Hemelse Modder
Reserve with
Hemelse Modder is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,727 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant just outside the touristy areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I went here with 14 others to celebrate a friends birthday on a Saturday night. We had pre-booked due to our large size but would recommend it anyway as by 8pm walk-ins were being turned away.

The food menu was limited but that suited our group, and it meant that the dishes were well thought out. All menus translated into English which was great. Food tasted fantastic and were good portion sizes... I think between us we had tried all of the available starters and main courses which everyone enjoyed. Wine menu was extensive and we enjoyed a lovely (couple) of bottles of the Bordeaux. The whole group opted for the chocolate mousse dessert (the signature dish of the restaurant according to our waiter) which was delicious. All three courses for 32.50 euros was brilliant value too.

Overall service was very good - we were never short of drinks. There was a long delay between starter and main but I think this was because there was another large group and we weren't in any rush so was not a problem.

Situated just outside the main tourist areas of the red light district and chinatown this is an excellent choice for romantic dinners or large groups.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emblebumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    149
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome, phenomenal food and delightful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great place. Second time there & took colleagues from out of town who were really impressed. The food is reasonably priced given its quality and beautiful presentation. Attention to every detail including recommending some excellent wines to go with the food... Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rainsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, terrific atmosphere, very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Do not be deceived by the low-key decor of this delightful restaurant on the Oude Waal: there is very serious cooking going on here. The menu is short, but that was no problem - we could happily have eaten every dish. In the event, my wife had the celeriac soup, plaice and selection of cheeses; I had rillettes of oxtail and veal cheek, apple-glazed guinea fowl and fresh fig tart with anise buttermilk ice cream. Nothing was less than outstanding, and the selection of cheeses was among the best we have ever encountered - a thoughtful range of superb cheeses, all in tip-top condition. There are at least two vegetarian options for each course - and imaginative ones at that. Service was cheerful, welcoming, helpful and well-informed. (For example, when my wife jibbed at the waiter's suggestion of a sweet wine to go with the cheese course, he brought us, free of charge, a taster glass of his preference as well as a full glass of the Rioja she ordered so that she could compare.) At €32.50 for three courses (though one or two dishes had a supplement) this was exceptional value, and we will certainly be going back when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Secondbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I have eaten in many restaurants in Amsterdam, some cheaper and some much more expensive. The food here is up there with the best of them. At at 32.50 Euros for 3 courses it's an absolute bargain.

We've past within a few metres of the restaurant many times, but had never been inside. One night, when running late, we thought we'd give it a try. The place was packed so we arranged to go back the next night. We ended up having a falafel that night - I love falafel!

When we returned the next night it was busy again but the service was excellent. There's a really friendly, relaxed atmosphere in Hemelse Modder. The food is stunning for the price. I had the croquettes of duck, roast guinea fowl and the signature dish - Hemelse Modder, which is a dark and white chocolate mousse with vanilla cream.

The best recommendation I can give? I went back and had it all again the next night.

Hemelse Modder will be a regular for us from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite outstanding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wandering around Amsterdam around 9pm and just happened upon this little gem.
Great menu of tasty dishes and good wine list with excellent service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemelse Modder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hemelse Modder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing