We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hemelse Modder

Hemelse Modder
Reserve with
Hemelse Modder is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great option in central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went here on the advice of a fellow traveler we met in a steak house. The food was great. Although we are not vegetarians, we both had the vegetarian options, both meals were the best vegetarian we have had in Europe. The other dishes looked very good too. The salmon starter and signature dessert were excellent.

Service was good, the room is understated and quiet. Prices were good, the 3 course option is a good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    152
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty Dutch food in very pleasant surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a lovely meal. Amsterdam is full of ethnic restaurants, and we had had some lovely Indonesian, Tibetan and Thai food, but we were looking for a more traditional, Dutch restaurant for some good food in a pleasant atmosphere, and this is what we found at Hemelse Modder. Our food was delicious, we really liked the decor, and the waiter was friendly, efficient and very helpful. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingQueen2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“delicious food for a reasonabe price in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were 4 people and everybody had different combinations from the three-course menu for € 31,50. I tried the mini-romana filled with herbs and cream, the bread pudding with basil, dried tomatoes and lemon mint sauce and the "hemelse modder" (Mousse auch chocolat). Everything was surprising and delicious. Especially the bread pudding was a complete re-interpretation that gave an unexpected fresh mediterranean twist to a normally rather heavy dish. Water was served free-of-charge. Service was friendly, and the restaurant was mainly frequented by locals. In fact, I was surprised to find a place like this in a city with so many tourists. Thus, I can give a clear recommendation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biochemopianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The meal was tasty, but doesn't worth the money (a little expensive). Although the waitress was very kind, her service was very slow, we gave up the dessert because we were so much time waiting... and the restaurant wasn't full. While we waited, the waitress had time to arrange the tables for the next day...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice enough meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate at this restaurant near our hotel. The food wasn't bad, but for the money, the quality wasn't there. There is a three our four course prix fixed menu, or you can order a la carte. We tried a local fish (pretty good), the lamb (tough and fatty), and a vegetarian dish (very little vegetable with a lot of puff pastry). Not bad, but wouldn't return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemelse Modder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hemelse Modder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing