We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food”
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
Reserve with
Gandhi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #573 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times. If I have time, I always go to Gandhi restaurant. Food is excellent. It's authentic Indian as the cooks are from India. Even the owner f this place is also originally Indian. Prices are reasonable and location is good. Just a few minutes walk from the central station. Worth trying

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    138
    43
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is the only Indian restaurant that I found in Amsterdam. The food was not bad. However as I was craving Indian food I enjoyed it. the staff were friendly and service was quick.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahnj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has been a surprise!
From outside it doesn't look like the nice restaurant you will find after the long corridor.
We have eaten two times here with some friends and we really have appreciated their punjabi food... mmmm very delicious and really Indian!
Prices are good and the employees (thanks to Subu) who work there are very kind like the owner of the place Mr. Singh.
Go with an empty stomach to fill it up with their yummy food!
We will remember this restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic halal indian food in Netherlands”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love good indian food and the food was so good we don't mind driving 1.5 hours from Eindhoven to Amsterdam for Gandhi. It is halal, which is important for us and the food is consistently tasty. Don't let the entrance scare you. It looks like a walkway to a seedy massage parlour. But keep on walking and order a plate :)

We've been there so many times that the staff recognizes us - the indian food lovers from Eindhoven. The staff are also nice. Our favourite is the tarka dal, vindaloo and biryani. The price is also reasonable - normally we spend 30 -35 euros for two including drinks. Everytime we receive visitors from Malaysia we'll recommend Gandhi and they will sing the same praises. Gandhi, please open a branch in Eindhoven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarakhanafiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were umming and erring about going to this restaurant. From the outside it looked liked a brothel, with being down a long narrow corridor with a sauna right next door. But don't let this put you off, as we were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good and the service staff were very friendly. They even checked the premiership scores for us through teletext, which we didn't know still existed! At the end of the meal the owner gave us liquors on the houses. I got a mango one which was lovely, but my partner got rum, which he drank with a forced face of gratitude. All in all, lovely food, great service and good prices. We spent about 40 eur on our meal which we found very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing