We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Thai food in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dynasty

Dynasty
Ranked #1,056 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Seaside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Eaten here many times, every time I'm in Amsterdam I eat here at least once.

Start off with a bottle of Moet. Order the seven course Dynasty Menu which includes scallops, lobster, ox marinated for 24 hours and other fantastic dishes. Switch to wine towards the end, they have some beautiful St Emilion wines.

You're paying top dollar but getting outstanding, outstanding food. During the summer they have tables outside. If the weather is nice, definitely take that option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Kitsch but good chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

You will not fall of your chair in excitement over the food in this very kitsch and busy chinese. But if you dont mind the long wait in between courses you will have a good meal. We had the duck, the secret of the oxtail and a Massaman curry and they were all good dishes. They also have a decent winelist for a chinese and staff was very friendly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best asian food in amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

for starters order the thai beef salat and the lobster loempia,for every one on the table.
then for the main dish: plaka pong and crispy fish and the secret of the ox.(share this with 4 people).
with the maindish you should order mie krob for sure.
believe me you will love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorenzodicrofti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service and disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been to Dynasty many times on our visits and it was always our first choice. Service is usually a little slow but it is worth waiting for generally. On this occasion it was our anniversary so just the two of us for a change. The service was ridiculously slow - even getting a drink refill took forever. We waited 40 mins after our starter for our main course before we complained. My husband then complained twice more before we were actually served it an hour after our starters. They did not care - simply said they were busy. Which is fine but the couple beside us arrived 15 minutes after us and had finished their main courses before we were even served ours. The maitre'd was very chatty with them and seemed to know them. We were given two free glasses of wine each to compensate but not much of an apology. When our main course arrived the fish dish was bland and tasteless which is very unusual as their food is usually amazing. We ate very little of it but no-one came near us to allow us to make comment. On clearing the table they were surprised and asked why we did not eat it and we said it was tasteless and bland and not at all enjoyable. They smiled and said ok. We had ordered 2 starters, 2 mains (including the expensive fish one) and 2 sides along with wine and a bottle of champagne so the bill was almost 300 euros. No apology at all on the poor service or disappointing dish as we were paying and leaving. It's the only time we have not left a tip. Despite this place being our favourite restaurant with tastebud tingling food on all previous occasions my husband refuses to return and gave them any more of our hard earned cash after their dismissive attitiude. Disappointing after years of great experiences.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Upscale quality Oriental restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Always great to be back!.......the spring rolls are outstanding, the Won Ton soup delicious, and the steamed fish in a light curry sauce amazing!........the atmosphere very nice, the service very friendly, the Maitre from Mauritius a great host!.........what else??? it's a timeless restaurant
that exists for over 25 years, creative kitchen. fresh products and very comfortable!

Thanks for the great evenings!

Roeland Biever

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roeland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing