We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food”
Review of New Dorrius

New Dorrius
Ranked #537 of 4,046 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $53
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with an inspiring menu of Dutch classics and International favourites. The bar is the perfect place for a nice cup of thee or coffee during the day, but also great for meeting your friends after and to enjoy a cocktail! The restaurant, designed by Patrick Diedericks, has a modern look and feel. Enjoy your healthy breakfast in the morning, a light lunch in the afternoon and a relaxing dinner in the evening, or simply enjoy a nice glass of wine at the bar. Every month we serve a changing menu with ingredients of the season.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

we stayed at the Crowne Plaza and went to the Dorrius as this restaurant is in the hotel, Food was very tasty and service was friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal

Thank DonnaJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed in our hotel, Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, and had dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food that was served and that you comment that the staff was friendly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre or in New Dorrius.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were lured to the restaurant by the 3 course daily special posted in the hotel elevator. The meal was very good. We had the venison and salmon and both were cooked to perfection. The service was a bit slow. It seems that no one knew who was assigned our table. They discounted our bill for the error. And because the atmosphere was relaxing, we didn't mind the delay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JollyTravelerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed in our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, and have chosen to visit our in-house restaurant New Dorrius.

I am sorry to read that the service at that time was a bit slow because of some miscommunication however it is a pleasure to read that there was an appropriate solution offered. It is great to read that you enjoyed the 3-course menu and especially the salmon.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day to show you our improved services. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer- Jaap.Roomeijer@ihg.com
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ate here for convenience as it was very close to our hotel.

Decor in the restaurant is modern.

Food and wine were good, very good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2015

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to our New Dorrius restaurant and bar and appreciated the services delivered and liked the food served.

Our team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I visited this restaurant just before Christmas for lunch with my husband. The atmosphere was relaxing and the Mann who served us was attentive without being a nuisance and gave tips on where to visit during our stay. We had the steak which came with chips and a red wine sauce and both myself and hubby really enjoyed it, in fact I would say the steak was one of the best I have tasted.
Price wise I would say its mid-high price but well worth it.
We would revisit and would recommend.

Thank HolidayLover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We ate here because it was cold out and it was in the hotel. The food was pretty good and the service friendly, and the price was reasonable.

Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Dorrius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New Dorrius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing