We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dress down and dig in”
Review of Cafe de Klos

Cafe de Klos
Ranked #88 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dress down and dig in”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to de Klos after reading the recommendations here, and were not disappointed. I actually liked that when I called to make a reservation, the guy said, nope, just come. We were 4. I wouldn't go with more than 4 or 5 people because the place is pretty small and it might take even longer to be seated. ANyway, he wrote our names down and directed us across the street to an unassuming neighborhood-y bar (which he owns) to nurse a beer and wait. Nurse we did, and wait we did, but the beer was cheap and we got to take our glasses back to the restaurant.

So, the food. We had the French Onion soup to start, hands down one of the best we've had. Very beefy, a bit sweet, lots of cheese and boiling hot. My husband and I ordered the ribs and definitely could have shared one dish between us. OUr friend ordered the prime rib medium well, and it was done to perfection, while our other friend, a vegetarian, had tomato soup and the cheese platter. SHe was happy with that.

Service was sort of slow, but we grew accustomed to that in every place we ate in Amsterdam, I would give service a rating of 4 because of the brusque "take it or leave it" attitude, but they had a sense of humor and good energy.

Oh, and maybe it's obvious because it's a ribs place, but for the record it is a CASUAL restaurant. The tables are with wooden benches, people are loud, and a pretty pair of shoes will go completely unnoticed. Dress down and dig in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanekaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    377
    86
    28
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Amazing food (especially the ribs!),atmosphere,value and staff! Special mention to the staff who are great fun! A must in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best carnivore experience in Amsterdam!!! ”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We came for lunch after hearing about this place for years, and some old memories of eating with my father some 10 years ago. We came at 15:00 and than saw the place opens only at 16:00 (important). The service was great although because we ordered a starter the ribs took sometime. The ribs were absolutely amazing!!!! A lot of meat very tender with great taste, we were full only with meat, no need for fries ( and they don't have any) this is the place to go for the best ribs and experience in Amsterdam!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dor B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ribs to die for!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in the hotel next door which meant I quickly spotted how busy this pub was when walking past. As soon as we checked in and cracked the windows of our room, all we could smell was the most delicious inviting scent we have ever experienced!! It was like we were put in a trance and so we had to venture next door and sought out what it was.
After hearing a group behind us all order ribs we ordered a plate of the spare ribs and a plate of the smoked ribs.
THEY WERE THE BEST DAMN RIBS we have ever eaten. Huge servings, fresh salad and bread, two dipping sauces on the side. Be sure to order a baked potatoe on the side (the meals are so big we shared a potatoe).
Service was friendly, our waiter cracked jokes with us and sung songs. He mixed our drinks twice if not three times as strong as they come in Brisbane for half the price.

We have been travelling Europe for three weeks now (currently in Italy) and this is definately the highlight of our food experiences. My partner has craved ribs so many times since just because of this little gem.
Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great spareribs”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came following recommendations and it was even better than we have expected. We completed the.ribs to the very end licking our fingers. the bar tender is very friendly and the place is a must for ribs lovers. Just remember that it opens up at 16.00 and the place is small.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Klos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe de Klos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing