We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An Oasis of Dining Elegance Away from the Tourist Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Ranked #87 of 3,625 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Dining Elegance Away from the Tourist Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We ate at De Kas earlier this month. It was such a welcome relief from the noise and crowds in the city center. My blood pressure went down as soon as we walked in the door. You dine in a greenhouse in the park. Unlike some restaurants in Amsterdam where you are dining on top of others, the tables are nicely spaced. The serivice was impeccable.

The menu is fixed price, so if you do not have an adventurous palate, this might not be the place for you. I could have had just the bread and olives and been satisfied. We had a fennel salad, and although I am not a fennel fan, I was eating the leftovers off my son's plate. The soup was a bouillion which was good, but not fabulous. My only issue with the dinner was the main course of mackerel. I thought this was an odd choice, as it is very fishy and not recommended for pregnant women. After one bite, I decided that was enough. The waiter noticed that I didn't like the fish and insisted that I have the meat alternative which was veal. The staff took note that is was my son-in-law's birthday and they brought him a special dessert. Aside from the fish, we had a wonderful experience at De Kas and I highly recommend it. Be aware that it is a bit of a cab ride from the city center - maybe $50 round trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinmom1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    316
    100
    48
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very, very hot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Take over a run down greenhouse. Convert half to grow your own veg and the other half into your own restaurant and you have a super hip combo. Highly recommend this restaurant. It is very slick, a bit off kilter and just great food. Enjoy the experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Presentation of food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very out of the way for an Amsterdam tourist, approximately $20 euro cab one way fare from city center. Nice setting - restaurant in a greenhouse where they grow their own vegetables. Meal is 3 course fixed which you can expand to include a cheeseboard. The starter and first course were very good, but the main entree was mackerel that was too fishy to eat. Since it was a fixed dinner, we didn't know that we could ask for something else until we had finished the course. Would have been nice if server had shared that info with us ahead of time. Overall, the fresh vegetables were fabulous and the setting very different. I don't think I would return again. Q

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrpdxs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful food, small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We choose this restaurant as we read that it is among the most peculiar restaurants in the world. The location is great indeed, and very elegant as well as the waiters. We had the menù with three entrees and one main course. All of them where really good and tasty but very small portions. The price is quite high for what you eat.
It is those kind of restaurants that you try once for the experience of eating in a garden.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been lucky enough to visit De Kas twice and I loved it on each occasion. We started with a glass of house sparkling and wander through the herb garden, followed by the three delicious courses. We all loved it. The flavours were delicately balanced, the portion sizes perfect, and we also opted for the wine matching which also added to the experience. All the staff are friendly and welcoming which isn't always the case in places the calibre of De Kas. Next time I'm booking the chef's table!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing