We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deco and nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Kamerlingh Onneslaan 3, 1097 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-462-4562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice deco and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I love the freshness of the veggie which straight from their glasshouse. Very friendly and helpful staff and my daughter was even invited to make a visit to the kitchen and took photos with the chefs!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant is world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is everything a restaurant should be; ethical, food grown on the premises, or locally sourced- excellent service and even the chef came out to give a talk on the provenance of the food and shared both his enthusiasm and philosophy of the restaurant that he is clearly passionate
about

The waiter was really brilliant and just there for us and was also clearly engaged in the whole process

A real must if you are in Amsterdam

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenhousebrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“some hits and misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

i had high hopes for this place, some of which were met, but some were not. The service is very good. The entree was delicious as was the dessert, though the latter was questionably presented.the appetizers were a miss. the soup, which was a creme watercress with pork, was good but i couldn't tell if it was meant to be served hot or just the luke warm that it was. also, it had large chunks of pork in it that made it inelegant to eat without trying to cut it. the two salads were the most disappointing for me. Just random things thrown together that ultimately weren't the better for it. however if there's one piece of advice i can give to the owners it would be to buy new dishes. the ones they have are same that they use in my office cafeteria (all beat up and of industrial quality) and it really takes away overall from the experience. if you're to be serving fine food it should be placed on high quality flat ware. or at least ones that haven't been used for several years and are all scratched up.

overall i would still recommend it and the setting and ambiance are quite beautiful. the wine pairing is a good value but the wines themselves are quite unimpressive. the only nice thing is trying wines from areas where you wouldn't normally have them (e.g. The netherlands).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The greenhouse is amazing and you are encouraged to walk around and check out what they have growing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food is only good. You get very little choice about the menu (the main course for the evening was fish, which I do not eat, so I was offered beef). Dishes were prepared and presented well, but the flavors were a bit bland. The dinner was very expensive, and much more than I would expect for the quality of food. Overall, a nice dinner, but I would not spend that kind of money there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summertravelers_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“past prime, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First, it's a really great space--a greenhouse within a garden, an oasis in urban Amsterdam.

That said, De Kas appears to coast on its name--and seems to be past its creative prime. The food is passable; the service is perfunctory and the waitstaff seem to have a script that they mumble as quickly as possible when you are seated. We were seated in a subpar corner table but the waitstaff refused to seat us elsewhere--even though the restaurant was half empty on a Tuesday night. In short, this is an assembly line that seems geared to the out of towner who will likely never visit again.

I would caution the visitor to dig deeper and find better food in Amsterdam--certainly the value is low at this venue. I was surprised by our poor experience given other reviews I've read. Too bad!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Badmash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing