We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Ranked #89 of 3,556 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We went there for my birthday last year. Amazing service, tasty food made out of fresh and quality ingredients. It is quite expensive(50€ only for the meal), but nice for a special treat!

Helpful?
Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    313
    99
    48
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

One of the most incredibly delicious foods in Amsterdam. I keep coming back every time I am in town. Though this is the first time I am writing a review about the Kas. The first time, we were looking for a place to grab a quick lunch and the Kas was a sheer delight. We were so glad to have found this quaint restaurant tucked in at a corner of the city. The food was great and the waitress who attended us had been overtly pleasant. She always had a welcoming smile on her face. The prices, we found were slightly on the higher side, though the meal was filling and sufficient. I quite understand the slightly higher price range, because it comes within the Tourist Zone. Good ambience and easy to reach. Not too many customers were present at that time of the night, yet the service was a bit slow. We had to wait for a while for the food to arrive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RRRice213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The venue and the setting is worth the visit, it's about 15 min by car from the center of Amsterdam, it was also exciting to see the greenhouses where the produce is grown, but unfortunately overall the food did not meet my expectations, having all that vegetables grown in house, the main dishes were lacking flavor, the soup and the desserts were fine and the wine recommendations were excellent, the service was also attentive and friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John51266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exquisite vegetables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

It takes a bit of patience to get a table on a week-end, but it is worth trying. Kas means green house - and most of their vegetables are actually coming from their own production. Incredibly tasting, and would recommend the house menu (4 dishes including Dutch cheeses). Desert was a bit too original for some of my colleagues, but overall a great experience. I will (try to) return.

Helpful?
Thank FroggyCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Great Gluten Free Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked our reservation at De Kas for Valentine's Day. We had visited this restaurant during our last trip to Amsterdam and found it charming with great "foodie" food and an enthusiastic and attentive staff. It did not disappoint on our second visit. While I was a bit worried that the pressure of Valentine's Day might cause a slight dip in food quality or service, the kitchen and wait staff did not let us down.

First, for all the gluten-free folks - this restaurant understands our needs. All of my dishes were prepared glulten-free, but I did not feel slighted in the least. Instead, the differences in the way my dishes were prepared were slight and I believe might have been even better than my husband's dishes who is not gluten-free. Our waitress, Rachel, even brought me a separate container or oil for my gluten-free bread so that my husbands wheat bread would not contaminate mine.

The meal was beautiful, interesting and extremely well paced. They listened to our likes and dislikes and made adjustments to their normal three-course, fixed-price meal. We had the wine parings which were quite good and fell within what we would have paid for a bottle of wine. They did not skimp on the pouring and came back more than once to give us a bit more so that we did not have an empty glass.

Finally, when we were leaving, the staff gave my husband a bag of cookies baked in the shape of hearts in honor of the day. However, the hostess remembered that I was gluten-free and asked us to wait for just a moment as she returned to the kitchen to bring me some caramels as a special gift.

You would need to go a long way to find a more congenial and delicious restaurant - especially for the gluten-free!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing