We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Kamerlingh Onneslaan 3, 1097 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-462-4562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Vegetarian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The restaurant is set in the park and even walking into it is a lovely experience. We went in the evening and it was quite magical to see, the setting is beautiful. The service is very good everyone was attentive but not overbearing. The food is taken from their own gardens and if they don't have it they source it locally. The meal was very interesting with a variety of vegetables not usually found, such as purple potatoes and yellow carrots, very tasty ( I particularly enjoyed the beetroot ). I think it is slightly overpriced compared to some other meals I have had in Amsterdam, but the setting is unique, so I suppose that is what you are paying for. But it is worth a visit, especially for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    286
    88
    46
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sitting in the kitchen - a real experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was lucky enough to eat at the Chef's table last week and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. After meeting Tommy, the head Chef, each Chef came to the table, introduced themselves and then explained what they had prepared for us. We had multiple small courses - each also accompanied by a selection of wines (each poured and described in detail).

The food is grown in their own gardens and greenhouses and the chef takes what he has fresh and then decides what to put with it (fish, fowl etc). We enjoyed and very nice clear mushroom soup (served to the table in transparent tea pots), fresh salmon smoked on the premises, very slow roasted meats and, with them all, a selection of uncommon vegetables (the purple potatoes stand out in my mind).

Between the main meal and dessert we had a tour around the restaurant and then enjoyed a selection of cheeses (one of which, a buffalo cheese, was made by the waitress's parents) and finally a very nice poached pear accompanied by ice-cream.

I should mention the washer-up - he was a star and very entertaining. Also Martin - lovely guy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KieronEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Easily one of the best places I've been to. The setting is so unique and charming, they could have served card board and I would have loved it. :)
But the food is also great.

I love their menu: they have a "lunch" or "dinner" item. That's it. It's fresh in-season ingredients, mostly from their own garden, made into a dish created by the chef for that day. The food couldn't be more perfect.

The restaurant is set on a the grounds of a park inside a green house. Great light in the dining room (it's all glass!), and great decor. Very nicely done.

Their approach to service is also pleasantly relaxed (very un-American!); not inattentive, just relaxed. They were running around, but didn't make us feel like things were rushed. We sat there for 1.5 hours for lunch. They spaced out drinks, appetizers, and entrees so perfectly that it didn't really feel like 1.5 hours. I would generally be annoyed if my lunch took that long, but they made it feel right. And they were in no rush to get us out; we could have easily sat there for another half hour without anyone bothering us.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this place for lunch or dinner in Amsterdam. It's a little pricey, but well worth the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank idin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ate at the kitchen table last Thursday Food and service were incredible. chef Tommy was great at explaining each dish and sommelier Fabiane very knowledgable . One of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Highly recommend you pay a little extra to eat in the kitchen. This is a great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammycain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

For wealthy cuisine lovers!
For wealthy cuisine lovers!
No food a la carte. Fixed menu with no choice. Full surprise. :)

Helpful?
Thank KrzysztofJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing