We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect all around”
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Ranked #68 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect all around”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just had a fantastic dinner at De Kas. We were a group of 12 and had a nice space where we could speak across the table without being disruptive to the rest of the restaurant. The location is beautiful, both inside the restaurant as well as the view and the gardens that surround it. The food is almost all locally grown or raised, extremely fresh and wholesome. No menu, whatever is in season is what is prepared, and it is delicious. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    334
    105
    48
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable if not amazing”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited recently off of the back of strong recommendations. First impressions are fantastic the service is polite, professional and friendly, plus you really can't help but be drawn to the assortment of plants being grown in the part of the greenhouse that still serves its original function. The dinning room is perfectly converted.

The food however is not quite to the highest standard. It is still very good, but struggles with too many flavours fighting for attention. I would have thought with the concentration being on producing their own ingredients that each would be given more care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This place was really innovative when they started... Organic food from their own ground.

After years it's still providing great value/ quality for money... We went for the lunch menu and it was really good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience, average food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

With a reservation, we visited the restaurant as a Mother'Day evening celebration. As previous reviewers have noted, the restaurant serves a fixed choice menu at a fixed price, but will provide alternatives if diners have an allergy or an aversion to all or part of the choice offered. For our visit, we all chose the 3 course fixed choice menu with wine pairings to match at a cost of some 70 euros per person. The starter course that evening was a medley of three different dishes - a grilled baby cos salad with croutons and old Dutch cheese, a white asparagus with egg and Jerusalem artichokes, and a quail roulade with beetroot. The medley was well presented but did not provide outstanding tastes. The main course comprised a filet of roast catfish wrapped in Serrano ham and served on a bed of black lentils with bok choy. The fish was cooked to perfection but again, the dish did not have the wow factor one might have expected. The desert course was an excellent rice pudding with a rhubarb coulis, a white chocolate saboyan and pistacho ice cream. Overall, the ambience of the restaurant is unique and tables are far enough separated as to not be bothered by adjacent diners. The service was both pleasant and knowledgable, although a minor glitch did occur when, after an inordinate wait, we had to request our desert course. However, the manageress did apologize for the glitch and offered us complimentary coffee and petit fours for the delay. Upon departure, the two mothers in our party each received a tomato plant from the adjacent hot house. In summary, the restaurant is worth a visit from the ambience alone but the limited menu and relatively high prices for the fare on offer are detractions to the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiejohnowen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. You can see the stork nest from the glass roof”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent service, very professional. The starters were very good and various. The ingredients are natural, only seasonal vegetables. The location is very nice. It is situated in a park, with a pond and a couple of chimneys where storks have their nests.
Fish and meat are cooked in a very natural way.
The menu is fixed by the restaurant, you can only specify if you're vegetarian or vegan... It is a take or leave it situation.
The dessert was very refreshing and not too sweet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing