We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice service and reception,”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of De Kas

De Kas
Ranked #72 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $144
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Almere
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice service and reception,”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

In a nice surrounding, very kind hospitality and good atmosfere we had a not very interesting diner. The wines were good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    331
    103
    48
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dining experience - very special”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous food all sourced either right there in the restaurant or at least locally. Thoroughly enjoyable, very good wine pairing, excellent service, absolutely faultless

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Great Service, Ultimately Disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

How much does the food matter to you?

If you like a marvelous atmosphere, professional service and eating next to the place where much of your food was grown, and if you don't mind paying a premium for food that is pretty ho hum, De Kas is the place for you.

Went for a business dinner with a group and got the special 99 Euro all inclusive meal. There were some nice ideas, but the ultimately De Kas succumbed to the flaw so many Dutch restaurants are prone to: it puts beauty and form over flavor. The food was bland, the portions were small, but it all looked great.

Too much money for too little, mediocre food. The wine was great though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sircampalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Setting is great. Food is excellent and completely locally grown or sourced from natural sources. It has its own green house where you can view the different fresh products which they grow,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzieB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Some of the fanciest food I have ever eaten, beautful space. Love it!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This restaurant served some of the most uniquely prepared food that I have ever eaten. There were flower petals, little carved beets, stacked up and carved chocolate on the dessert, all kinds of special touches on everything.

We had little shot glasses of foam soup as an amuse bouche. Then a little piece of salmon with caviar on a spoon. Then a gorgeous lobster claw and arm taken out of the shell and arranged with curls of cucumber and tiny smoked shrimp. Tiny multicolored beets carved and arranged on baby greens. On and on, each dish more Alice In Wonderland-like than the previous one.

The space is a greenhouse with jellyfish-like glass lamps hung from the rafters. It is huge and open and possibly the coolest place I have ever eaten, except for a beach in the Maldives.

I thought that this was the best restaurant that I visited in Amsterdam. I loved it and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing