We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fab... And eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Ranked #76 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $55
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab... And eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We had supper here on advice of a colleague.. 5 of us..1 veggie and one fish liver..delicious. Service was attentive but not overpowering professional and yet really welcoming and friendly. Food was fresh, well made and tasted delicious from the more traditional rack of lamb (suitably pink) to the lobster bisque with cognac cream (nom nom) the were some real triumphs. Good wine. Amazing decor and centrally located.. We will be returning..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    261
    51
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited for dinner on our anniversary at the weekend. We were warmly received by the staff and our request for a window seat (which we had asked for when we booked) was accommodated very graciously.
We opted for a selection across the set menu (you can choose courses from it if you don't want the full set menu) and the a la carte and everything we ordered was delicious! The portions were also generous- we shared a pudding because we couldn't bear to miss out!
The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and we did not wait long for our food despite the restaurant being full (book ahead, particularly at the weekend-people were turned away while we were having a drink in the bar).
The view, looking out over the canals, is superb. The art nouveau interior is also beautiful and very romantic! We hope to return in the future in the summer to experience sitting out on the canal-side tables!

Helpful?
Thank LizziePrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent meal and good wine at this lovely restaurant. The atmosphere and ambiance was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can see into the kitchen and it was fascinating to watch the cook sending out all these wonderful meals whilst being so calm, collected and uncluttered (I shook his hand on the way out). All the plates were going back empty which is always a good sign. You will need to book - we booked in the UK prior to our trip and I am glad we did. We walked by the next night and they were full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maureenmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
391 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Was recommended here - I was staying just over the canal in Chic and Basic. This place has a beautiful position overlooking the canal with an entrance just round the side. It is a small place with excellent, friendly service. The interior is elegant. We had a meal for 4 which was absolutely delicious. Great selection of wine and beers.

I had the lamb which was gorgeous, followed by cheeses and a port. My friend had the dessert selection which looked lovely.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back: am visiting Amsterdam later in the year - the only pity is it appear to be a venue to take a small child. Still, a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Place To Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great menu - Wonderful Sphere. Gives visitors to Amsterdam a good feeling of an original Dutch Restaurant. A Must visit in Amsterdam

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing