We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal, spectacular view, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Reserve with
De Belhamel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $54
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, spectacular view, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon De Belhamel on the corner of Brouwersgracht canal and Herrengracht bridge right along the water. It is a small, intimate and romantic restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating along the canal. We walked by right before dinner started and reserved a table for 615pm for a seat by the water. Our server was attentive and timely and helped us with tips from the menu. We enjoyed a delicious wine and water was also provided. I ordered the chef special of Saltimbocca and my husband enjoyed the Boeuf Belhamel. Both entrees were delicious and the serving was abundant. My favorite was the homemade profiteroles for dessert! My husband had the Dutch cheese plate, also tasty, and jenever after dinner. Despite the bustling location and many walk-ups hoping for a table, our service was delightful and unhurried. We observed both dutch locals and tourists from around the globe enjoying dinner here. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ro_vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    305
    56
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate recently at this restaurant which has been one of our favourites for many years whenever we are in Amsterdam. It has always been slightly overpriced but compensated by the delicious food and ambience. Well this time we got to sit by the canal which is great but the food and service were dismal. A few sprigs of salad leaves with some non descript embellishments for €13 constituted an entree and main listed as having white asparagus was no where to be seen. Fair enough if out of season but at least mention it. That, amongst other things, just indicates the complascent attitude. Unfortunately, will not be returning there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fussyeaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant could quite possibly have the best view in the city. Probably best practice to get a reservation, as they were very busy on a Sunday night. The chef's menu was very good, and the fish was also good. Great wine list. The food was somewhat expensive, however.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdwaugh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located at the junction of the Brouwersgracht and Herrengract, this restaurant serves solid food in a Parisian bistro setting. Ask for a table near the window for a wonderful canal view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredRo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Monday night. The food was excellent, and the restaurant is a cool place with a great view.

We were lucky to grab a table outside overlooking the canal, but later moved inside because it got a bit cold after dark. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with moving (the restaurant wasn't really busy that night) as well as with everything else.

My wife had the lamb and I had the steak. Both were incredibly good, including the side dishes. We ordered the house red wine and it was excellent as well.

The interior of this place is definitely worth a look. Make sure to visit the restroom downstairs just to see the "hidden" extra seating and bar down in the basement.

This place isn't cheap, but it's a great restaurant for a nice night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrptPlyr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing