We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food in divine setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Reserve with
De Belhamel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $54
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in divine setting”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam is quite damp & chilly presently so we sat indoors. On Thursday we enquired at 4pm & booked for 6-6.30. We requested the best table and got the 'A' table just inside the front door (locked on such evenings - enter by the side door) with the best canal view. Fabulous asparagus soup with scallop, beef, & cheese platter. 4 courses. 4 glasses of beaut wine. 102euro.
We returned unbooked Friday for late lunch 2.30pm. No problem. The 'A' table again. Watercress soup on an asparagus stock base to die for. 3 courses. 4 glasses of same beaut wines. 75euro. I would go again & again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    309
    60
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enchanting plus Delicious!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The beautiful ambiance of this small but gracious restaurant cannot be fully put into words. With the evening glimmering lights of two of Amsterdams many canals it adds a romantic feeling that you will always remember. Coupled with the professional waiters and the palatte pleasing repast of every dish on the menu, it will allow you a truly pleasing experience!

Helpful?
Thank markhenry1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enkhuizen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with a beautiful view”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This little restaurant on the Singel canal offers great views and the potential to sit out on a warm evening, that is if you want to take your chance with the sudden downpours. The food here is fantastic - delicious and fulfilling and decor is just as beautifully French. Be sure to book, although you might get away with this on the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, would go again and again”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This restaurant is divine. Every single thing we ate was delicious! The service was great, the atmosphere is fab. I cannot express how much we enjoyed ourselves.

Highly recommend the beef sirloin and lamb main courses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgieemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A lot of waiting time”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I waist my time for wait our plate, it is was so long - 40 min in the lunch! Cooking is well but personal complitly mistake

Helpful?
Thank Koffeffok D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing