We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Typical Dutch bar/cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Thijssen

Cafe Thijssen
Ranked #578 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Typical Dutch bar/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A typical Dutch bar/cafe with outdoor seating right in the middle of a residential road beside one of the main canals. After a long day exploring Amsterdam we finished the day off with drinks and nibbles at this very nice place. We had the warm snacks along with beers and wine. Really nice and good value and no problem just sitting relaxing enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank strakerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“relaxed place in the Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

great place to have a lunch...good sandwiches at a reasonable price and a great atmosphere...lot's of Dutch newspapers and magazines around to read...good to combine with the nearby markets on saturday and monday (Noordermarket)...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarpetispas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bright, Airy, Big Inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stopped by mid-morning after a trip through the Westerstraat Markt and a wander around the north end of the Jordaan. My wife and I needed coffee, and we all needed a light snack. Cafe Thijssen is unlike a lot of Amsterdam cafes in that it is spacious inside with plenty of light. The outdoor seating faces much of the day's light, especially early in the day. The food we had doesn't stand out as must-have, but it was a nice stop in a good area, and a good place to refuel if you're at the north Jordaan markets.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonwMatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful , impromptu dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stumbled upon it after getting lost looking for a waterfront restaurant in the bitters island. Young waiter said they did not have a full kitchen but he suggested a pumpkin soup. Tracy had a spread platter with wonderful Dutch bread and "mature" cheese. Tried a few local beers and my first jenever drink. Manager and staff were extremely nice. The soup is superb. The bread soft and grainy. The cheese, well the cheese. There is no bad cheese here :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlosmvaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Typical Dutch service, but great soups and sandwiches at a reasonable price. The cafe was toasty and warm on a cold, windy day, and the food was excellent (we tried two soups and the salmon sandwich - all very good). I do have to say, though: if you have picky kids, this is probably not the place for you. We didn't have much luck finding anything on the lunch menu that our kids would willingly eat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank somanyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thijssen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Thijssen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing