We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of time - literally” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blauw aan de Wal

Blauw aan de Wal
Ranked #255 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $120
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waste of time - literally”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We walked in and were given a 'cancelation' despite not having a reservation and shown to an upstairs table. A glass of sparkling wine was offered and a few snacks however the menu did not arrive for around 45 minutes. The starter then took a further hour turn up, a rather pretentious sounding and average tasting rabbit dish. The main course took a further 45 minutes - they even gave us a complimentary glass of wine as the service was apparently slow even by their standards. The dish was supposed to have razor clams but these were substituted with a crab leg with no meat on it. We were eventually shown the dessert menu and chose one of the two options. By 11.30 in the evening we had wasted over 3 and a half hours of our short weekend break sitting waiting for food to appear and despite enquiring 3 time there was still no sign of our dessert. A passing sous chef muttered something about a misunderstanding. At this point we totally lost patience, negotiated a settlement and left minus dessert. An altogether frustrating experience at a restaurant that has the potential to be good but is ruined by appalling service and a quirky penchant for offering drinks blind by recommendation without a wine list (or prices!). Not a good customer experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    73
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Too posh for me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided to explore the red light district before dinner. It didn’t feel seedy here at all, just full of tourists like us checking out the area. If anything, it was simply a pleasant stroll along another of Amsterdam’s many canals.
We found a restaurant down an alleyway that was surprisingly upmarket. It was called Blauw aan de Wal (Blue on the quay). Normally you would need to book to get in here, but we were shown to a table up on the second floor. Although this is a top restaurant, there were only two choices of starter on the menu, and likewise only two choices of main course. I went with some sort of salmon and oysters concoction as my starter, but I wasn’t keen on the texture. For main I got raw tuna in ginger broth, and was similarly unimpressed. To be fair, everyone else in our party were impressed with their meals, so maybe it was just too posh for me!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was great. Servers were very nice, but there were small errors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food was delicious and well presented, but the servers forgot to bring out one of our course. Even without that course, our meal lasted over three hours. I am not one to rush through a European dining experience, but the time between course was ridiculously long.

As far as ambience, it is right in the heart of the red light district and right next to a sex show theater, but it is in a courtyard between buildings, so once you are seated, you can not tell what is going on in the street.

I would certainly try this place again with more realistic expectations about how long the meal would take. Also, be sure to have a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Total miss on delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Sorry guys. Great food (pricey). Excellent presentation. Interesting location and seating outdoors is good. But the delivery was so abysmal and the wait staff just don't get it. I had to demand menus after thirty minutes of sitting. We didn't even get our main course until 2:40 after we arrived. My business dinner was a shambles. We didn't even bother to stay for dessert, we had all had enough of interminable waiting. Te waiters managed to ignore our table for over 30 minutes at one stretch. And yes, all our glasses were empty. A this price, poor service is unacceptable. Five business colleagues of mine all agree. Major miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden in the red light district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you search for a nice restaurant in Amsterdam, don't be stopped by where it is located. The restaurant is in a courtyard away from the RLD chaos. The food is fantastic and the service is top, you won't find a better one in A'dam. Discrete but still attentive to your every need. The house is also recommending their preferred wine on the list, and it was fantastic! And of course the food was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blauw aan de Wal also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blauw aan de Wal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing