We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Good Stuff.”

Barney's Coffeeshop
Ranked #6 of 142 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Stuff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Food was great here. I don't smoke myself but my friends are pretty much experts when it comes to green and they were raving about it. Visit Barneys!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    134
    41
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Suprisingly unfriendly atmosphere - totally overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was advised by a number of people to try out 'the best coffeeshops Amsterdam had to offer'. Sadly I was underwhelmed by the unfriendly and brusque service offered at Barney's, considering we were the only customers in the entire building - decided to 'take out' on this occasion.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Dope!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the best hash in Amsterdam and great atomisers right on the table....Barney Rubble is uniique - a must try

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went to the Barneys Breakfast bar and had nice food. Scrambled egg, irish sausage, beans were all top quality, a little pricey but worth it!!!

Although some items werent on the menu, staff were very helpful in "customising" the breakfast.

Thanks!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeLad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Coffee Shop on my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great little shop with excellent service, great menu, delicious milkshakes and hot cocoa. Care and attention shown to the clients when making selections from menu. Cozy spot with interesting interior. Due to location and overall quality we stopped here multiple times during our stay for light night desserts.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gurutogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's Coffeeshop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barney's Coffeeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing