We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dutch food”
Review of Restaurant Simpel

Restaurant Simpel
Reserve with
Restaurant Simpel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,185 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $17 - $41
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Simpel is situated in the heart of 'de Pijp' neighbourhood, known for its diversity of colourful shops, trendy bars and good restaurants. Our motto is less is more. We offer pure, basic food in a simple but stylish setting. Also important to know is that our food is fresh and our menu affordable, so Simpel is good value for money as well! The tasteful inviting interior attracts a wide variety of people and is ideally suited for lunches, dinners, presentations, parties or any other celebration! Visit our website to see our special group brochure. A visit to our restaurant is easy to combine with some great city sightseeing because Amsterdam's most popular tourist attractions like Albert Cuyp market, Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum,Stedelijk museum and Van Goghmuseum are all located withing walking distance from Simpel. The tasteful inviting interior attracts a wide variety of people and is ideally suited for lunches, dinners, presentations, parties or any other celebration!
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good dutch food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Good place to experience dutch food in a nice atmosphere in the middle of De Pijp.
Soup are really nice, menu should be updated more often to enlarge choice. Service is ok.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nienticifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    27
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat out in de Pijp”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

There’s a lot to like about Simpel. The service is warm and laid back and it’s really easy to relax and enjoy the ambience. The menu isn’t massive, but it’s very well thought out and each dish looked very tempting. I had the soft shell crab starter and duck main course, both cooked to perfection. I would go back to Simpel in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy_Beergut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great tasting food and great service”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ordered the sea bass and it was delicious. Tasty and well portioned. Also ordered the side salad which I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't a dinky salad with a couple greens tomato and cucumber. It was a well put together salad fit for an appetizer so I appreciated and was impressed with the quality and attention they put for sides. The bread that comes with the meal is amazing. It's like eating into a cloud. Tried looking for the bakery they get it from but couldn't find it. It was that good! The service was amazing. So nice and friendly. Made us feel so welcome.

Would visit here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent Christmas evening in Simpel. Three of us ordered the special 5-course Christmas meal; the fourth ordered off the regular menu. Five course special was well priced at 39 euros per person. The food was wonderful and so attractively presented and the wine was reasonably priced with good selection. The downside: we spent nearly four hours there. We never got first course until we had been there over an hour. The restaurant was completely full that night however and perhaps a bit understaffed. Special menu courses were very small portions (except for dessert) but everything was delicious. Veal tartare was absolutely excellent as was cod with lentils. Overall wonderful meal but we drank way too much wine due to the length of time spent there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-in-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Found it by accident when we couldn't get a table in the restaurant we had planned. We ordered the 4 plate surprise menu and a bottle of wine and everything was just fantastic. This restaurant is really worth a visit it can only be recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hylbaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Simpel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Simpel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing